We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Harbour View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Harbour View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a good basic hotel.We booked a harbour view basic room and this was fine.The room was of reasonable size and the bathroom workable.The hotel and the room were clean and tidy.The common areas and corridors are a little basic but functional.Food was quite good certainly not fine dining but nothing to downrate the hotel for.Its in a good location with easy walking round the harbour side and into the central areas.The staff were very good,friendly and attentive.For our overnight stay it worked very well.

Room Tip: Try and prebook a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    305
    89
    25
    11
See reviews for
157
324
35
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. But if you are looking for a clean, basic room with a fabulous location, I recommend the Copthorne. In addition, if you get a room with a view of the bay, you are set. You could look out the window all day long. Although there is a balcony, it is quite narrow and you need to put your chair sideways to sit out there.

The main points are that the staff is friendly and courteous, the location is exceptional and you can walk to the bay, the CBD and the Te Papa Museum and there is a huge supermarket at a 5 minute distance. The view was amazing.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic location, just minutes away from the center of the city with a fantastic view of the harbour. Our meal at the restaurant was really good food. It was very good value for both the accommodation and the restaurant. Would definitely go back there and the sooner the better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked a harbour view twin -flexible room through Expedia for two nights in March 2013.
We were located on the 6th floor with a very nice view over the harbour and a small balcony.
As my husband and I were travelling with our adult daughter, we were pleased with the layout of the room providing adequate privacy between the two sleeping areas. Nice comfy beds and pillows. In our deal we received three $20 vouchers for full breakfasts served in the hotel restaurant, nice food and pleasant staff. Great location within easy walking distance to the museum and lots of nice restaurants.

Room Tip: We booked a Harbour View Twin Room on the 6th floor and it was perfect for the two nights we spent i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The location and the service at this hotel are fabulous. After a very long flight I arrived late and the staff at the desk were happy to give me an exceptionally late check out time the next day, to allow for my jet lag! The rooms were big, clean and had everything you could want in a hotel room. In particular the shower was huge.
I stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of my tour of New Zealand, and I would stay there again. It's not 5 star - but then neither is the price. Overall I'd say the hotel was exceptional value and the perfect place to relax after a long flight or a long tour. And the service is certainly 5 star.
Buffet breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I are utterly disgusted with our experience in this Hotel. The quality and the condition of the superior room that we were given to us were not up to standard. A list of this substandard conditions are as follows:

-Dirty dishes with coffee and milo stains in the cups.
-Table and benches and were not sprayed and wiped.
-Veranda was very filthy, dirt and cigarette buts sweaped into corner and also a very tight space.
-Pamphlet was given to us that said “heated pool”, even written on the signs with direction to this “heated pool”. Pool was not “heated” and was really cold.
-Had a upgrade to a Superior Harbour view room, staff advising us it was a Harbour view room. Got to our room on level 1 and three big trees were blocking the view. For a superior room valued at such a high price I would have expected a better a higher room.
-Uncomfortable bed with hard solid pillows and such a thin blanket, was very cold at night. No electric blanket and as for the bed cover, it is so out dated.
-Bed and breakfast included in our package and was not advised of the $6 delivery.
-WALLS: no privacy between the walls. We could hear conversations on either side even up stairs. We could hear people having showers up stairs.

My husband and I did not enjoy our honeymoon and are requesting a refund. Our overall rating is very poor and less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights in February 2013. Staff were polite enough but they were pretty slow at check-in and a simple amendment required at reception pretty much flummoxed the staff. It took them ages to figure out how to resolve the issue. My room was at the back of the hotel on the 9th floor which had a really rubbish view and the decor was like the rest of the place; old fashioned, a bit tired and generally needing a bit of a make over. The only real plus point was that it was tidy enough and clean.
The WiFi policy is pretty out-dated with steep charges for every 20mins. They advertise free WiFi but it's only available in the lobby and it only last for 20mins a day.
The room didn't have any bedside lamps and the light switch beside the bed turned on overhead lights directly above the bed. The lights were extremely bright and could not be used - I was sharing a twin room with my sister so it was really inconvenient not to be able to put a bedside light on. The location was pretty good - close enough to be within easy walking distance of the local attractions but it didn't feel hemmed in at all.
Overall I'd say this hotel would be perfect for people who are happy to pay handsomely for mediocrity and a hotel that takes quite an old fashioned approach.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#8 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.