We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family rooms & excellent water views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great family rooms & excellent water views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here recently with my 10 year old daughter in a family room with King bed on the water side and twin beds near the door, separated by the bathroom. Perfect arrangement for us and for any family of up to 4. With lovely views of the yacht club and harbour, and a flat easy walk to Te Papa, Courtenay Place & downtown, I think that the Copthorne Hotel is ideally situated. Close to the harbour and the beautiful promenade that circles the harbour and is brilliant for walking or running any time of the day. What's not to like? Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the water view rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    243
    76
    23
    10
See reviews for
117
282
28
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for just one night and overall had a very pleasant stay. The location is great being just a short walk from Te Papa and the city centre. Be sure to stay in the new wing and not the older rooms on top of the hill. I was a little worried about traffic noise when I was assigned room 104 which was directly above the lobby entrance. However, the double glazing is superb at cutting out any noise and the blackout curtains did their job. We heard no noise from neighboring rooms.

The bedroom itself is very spacious and plenty of storage (both hanging, shelves and drawers). The bathroom was also generously sized and the shower over bath was very good (no feeble dribbles here that barely get you wet!!). The decor is modern and nothing to really fault about the room. However, I would rank the bed as being on the firm side of hard. The biggest problem with the room was the aircon. While it was very quiet, it would not get the room colder than 24 degrees.

Other niggles about the room;
- chipped and dirty coffee cups
- no hotel information directory. We had to ring the front desk for one.
- plenty of TV channels were just static which made me think we were missing some. However, as there was no list of available TV channels, I don't know. But many typically available channels were not there.
- the internet prices are extortionate.

We had a meal in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent. I can recommend the ostrich!!

This hotel does have a pool and the photos on their website make it look quite large and modern. In reality it is a very sad and generally unpleasant. It is supposed to be heated but I feel a candle would achieve warmer water temperatures. So it was a very short and unenjoyable swim.

But the big one to beware of, THIS HOTEL CHARGES 4% FOR USING YOUR CREDIT CARD. I personally think that is a disgusting practice and would probably not stay here again just for that reason alone. It's a shame as the rooms and restaurant are very good.

Room Tip: All rooms in the new block have a view over Wellington harbour. BEWARE OF THE 4% SURCHARGE FOR USING...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is an older facility and style but quite comfortable. We had a first floor room so the view of the bay was limited. The bar and restaurant have the middle of the view blocked by the main building. Free wi-fi was limited to 20 minutes per day and only available in the lobby and bar which in this day and age is unacceptable. Easy walk to the Te Papa Museum and restaurants and the waterfront walkway is great. Excellent staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

One of the better hotels we have stayed in. Unbeatable views from our room's 9th floor balcony overlooking the yacht club; easy 10 minute walk to the CBD and restaurants. Helpful staff. Free wifi in the lobby areas was a big plus in comparison to other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at Copthorne Oriental Bay with the family and it is a highly recommended hotel to stay at - easy access to restaurants, walking distance to Te Papa Museum etc. The rooms were clean, checking in was a breeze and a request for a late check out was not a problem. The Reception staff were great, the food and beverage team was efficient - good room service menu and the concierge desk was also helpful. Last but not least, the Housekeeping team also did a fabulous job!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel and what an investment it was. Great service, great location and lovely bedroom. A must have if you would like to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Wellington and the beach. I will definitely be coming back here again A++++ Accommodation.

Cheers Copthorne for the stay, money well spent =)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

As we had two children we were looking for a hotel that would have separate sleeping areas without having o purchase interconnecting rooms. This property did not disappoint. We got the Kid n All package booked directly to friendly responsive Receptionist.We were on the second floor looking out onto harbour. Fully functional bathroom separated a King size bed and twin beds which was perfect . Room was perfect had everything we needed and was quiet which is a big thing for me. Pool was perfect for children as the weather was insanely hot, a tad tired could do with some more seating for adults and a paint but otherwise children did not care and was very refreshing and good depth for children (6 & 7) and adults. As part of package children ate free so had a fabulous buffet breakfast both mornings. Did not have a evening meal there. The children got free mocktails and have to say their Mojito was one of the best i have had. Fabulous location Oriental parade on your door step with a quick easy stroll to Te papa and Courtney place really lovely walk along waterfront to Lambton quay / shops & bars. All staff we tentative, engaging & friendly nothing a problem. Would go back in a heart beat when we next return to Wellington.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#8 Family Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.