We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a reservation if you expect a seat inside.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly

Dragonfly
70 Courtenay Place, Wellington 6140, New Zealand
048033995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 652 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 232 cities Reviews in 232 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
“Get a reservation if you expect a seat inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

On a weekend night, this place was crowded and loud, a mostly young crowd. But we were allowed a small table back by the bar, where we enjoyed a nice meal over the hubbub. The food is Asian; I had the salmon two ways and she had some variety of chicken and a salad. There is a decent drink and wine selection, but not an outstanding one.

The good restaurants in downtown Wellington were fully booked on Valentine's night, and although the lesser establishments had plenty of room, the crowd at Dragonfly was a pretty good indication that the locals hold it in high esteem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great place for a drink and nibbles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been here before and love trying new places. Me and my partner had3 small plates and the tuna with coconut cream was delicious! The spicy cheese parcels were good but all we could taste was blue cheese which is understandable. The chicken ribs were delicious as well. We then had the free range chicken which was very juicy and full of flavour but the salad it came with didn't compliment the chicken at all.
But overall a lovely experience and I will be back but not before i try a few other places in town

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice flavours, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Interesting decor but very dark. Limited selection for an Asian resto, but some delicious flavours. What would stop me coming back is the service- not rude, but entirely disinterested- no conversation, no questions about our preferences, inattention to our order; absent-minded to the point of absence.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We joined some friends for dinner at Dragonfly a few days ago. Our friends said they eat there frequently - and I can see why.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Contemporary Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Decor: (8.5/10)
Contemporary, Dimmed Lighting, Asian. Several areas in which to dine, from front of house, main inside area, bar area and outside.

Atmosphere: (7/10)
Like most restaurants this one has a very lively buzz to it, making it ideal for conversing without fear of being overheard. The background music is your contemporary run of the mill music that is mostly there to create ambiance but by no means memorable.

Service: (8.5/10)
Very tidy, professional, courteous and attentive.

In Summary: (8/10)
More expensive than your usual Asian Restaurant but if you can afford it, it certainly is worth the price of admission.


(1) Entree: (7/10 – worth trying out)
Spring Rolls duck, free range pork, shitake, vermicelli and coriander, served w cucumber relish. $15.
Just a word of caution, the cucumber relish is best poured over the vermicelli and not used to dip the spring roll in because the relish is too overpowering. A great side dish.

(2) Main Dish: (8/10 - recommended)
Salmon 2 Ways char grilled salmon fillet on a hot and sour, green tea smoked salmon salad w Vietnamese mint, green banana, chilli, lime and roasted rice $29.
I’ve never ordered salmon before so this comes as a revelation. I’m told that salmon is a fish that basically has no taste at all which is ideal if you are gung-ho on adding flavor to these dishes. This particular salmon, though, had very little in terms of flavoring, but was absolutely divine. I’m not a fan of eating fish other than the sort that comes from your typical fish and chip shop but after having sampled this dish I’d be remiss if I didn’t recommend trying the salmon

(3) Main Dish: (8.5/10 – dish worth coming back for)
Pork and Prawn semi shelled tiger prawns, twice cooked free range pork belly, Chinese green garlic and XO sauce $29.
Pork and prawns is an interesting pairing, but then I’ve also seen prawns paired with other meats. Both the prawns and the pork were cooked to perfection and simply delish! I honestly couldn’t say whether the two meats complimented each other but then I really couldn’t care less – it was a fantastic dish. Fully recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Dragonfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.