We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL OLD HOUSE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherswud B&B

Cherswud B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherswud B&B
Save Saved
You added Cherswud B&B to your Saves list
121 Helston Road, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Wellington B&B and Inns
mt pleasant
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“WONDERFUL OLD HOUSE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This B & B was a great find. Its not for from the city and has good bus and train services so it is easy to get around the city and see all the sites. David and Marilyn are great hosts and looked after all our needs very well. Joe was the beakfast king with many choices to set us off well fed on our daily excursions. The rooms are beatifully appointed with private bathrooms not ensuite a real home away from home. This is a nice quite place, a great place to stay, highlt recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

David and Marilyn could not be more gracious and inviting. Their home is great with an interesting history. We were so engaged in conversation our first night that Marilyn, to keep it going, whipped up a few dishes for dinner - and never charged us; we were, literally, their guests. Another night, we were invited to join them and another very interesting couple for dessert when we returned from dinner out. The home is comfortable, spotlessly clean, great internet and large private bath though not ensuite - but who cares. Convenient to all of Wellington and only a few minutes from the ferry. We certainly consider them friends now and miss them - it was a great and memorable stay and one that reinforces why we choose B&B when travelling.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Looking for somewhere to stay in Wellington? Then you will not go wrong if you choose Cherswud. The accommodation was excellent, comfortable and clean with lots of attention to every detail, plus a great bathroom! Our meal was delicious and the wine flowed. The highlight - the people. Marilyn, David and Joe were just fantastic. Good company; caring; loads of laughs and plenty of intersesting facts and information not only about Wellington, but both North and South Islands.
We were very sorry to leave and felt that we really had made new friends.
A big 'Thank you' David, Marilyn and Joe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Cherswud B & B was an unexpected treasure! Joe was a gem and so very interesting and welcoming. I could have talked with him for hours! He had so many stories to tell and so much knowledge. The house was lovely and the spa bath was such a treat. It was quite cold being the middle of winter, but the heaters and electric blankets made it cozy. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I stayed with Marilyn and David and Joe. They are fantastic hosts and make me feel like part of their family. Nothing is too much trouble, down to the hot drinks for my cough! I highly recommend this B&B - really lovely!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Marilyn and David and Joe are absolutely the best hosts. We had a huge room, access to confortable sitting rooms, great conversations and the most incredible food! Marilyn and David are so very welcoming and Joe, who is a grad student helping them out, is the most incredible cook and a very kind soul. Please enjoy their welcome and please be part of their family! Easy access to all of Wellington on the bus as well. We also spent a rainy day getting work and laundry done and felt absolutely right at home!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fabulous! We stayed in the red room and had a HUGE bathroom with one of the best sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I spent three days with Marylin and David and we could not have asked for better hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay both comfortable and fun. Cherswud is a lovely old house which has been tastefully decorated, our room was quite large, the bathrooms spotless, and the conservatory a wonderful spot to enjoy a days end drink and conversation. We enjoyed excellent breakfasts and two excellent evening meals. There is a commuter train nearby that will take you all the way into downtown Wellington, which is where most of the attractions are. We can highly recommend Cherswud for its high standards, hospitality and value for money.
Tom and Valerie Fowle
Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherswud B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherswud B&B

Address: 121 Helston Road, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherswud B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.