We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherswud B&B

Cherswud B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherswud B&B
121 Helston Road, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Wellington B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I stayed with Marilyn and David and Joe. They are fantastic hosts and make me feel like part of their family. Nothing is too much trouble, down to the hot drinks for my cough! I highly recommend this B&B - really lovely!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Marilyn and David and Joe are absolutely the best hosts. We had a huge room, access to confortable sitting rooms, great conversations and the most incredible food! Marilyn and David are so very welcoming and Joe, who is a grad student helping them out, is the most incredible cook and a very kind soul. Please enjoy their welcome and please be part of their family! Easy access to all of Wellington on the bus as well. We also spent a rainy day getting work and laundry done and felt absolutely right at home!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fabulous! We stayed in the red room and had a HUGE bathroom with one of the best sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I spent three days with Marylin and David and we could not have asked for better hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay both comfortable and fun. Cherswud is a lovely old house which has been tastefully decorated, our room was quite large, the bathrooms spotless, and the conservatory a wonderful spot to enjoy a days end drink and conversation. We enjoyed excellent breakfasts and two excellent evening meals. There is a commuter train nearby that will take you all the way into downtown Wellington, which is where most of the attractions are. We can highly recommend Cherswud for its high standards, hospitality and value for money.
Tom and Valerie Fowle
Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

On my late arrival, Marylin, David and Joe could not have been more welcoming and understanding, providing me with supper and a welcome glass of wine to palliate a stressful event. They managed their bookings to extend my stay and I was made to feel like a member of the family. I was treated to excellent meals (breakfast and dinner) and was grateful for the use of the computer. The house is comfortable and full of character. The bedroom room was cosy if a bit cramped when my partner arrived. The bathroom was separate but close. It is within 20 minutes' drive of the centre of Wellington, very easy to find and with parking outside on the roadside.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Lovely old house and very welcoming hosts, comfy quiet rooms and very well-appointed roomy bathroom. Breakfasts can be as big as you like, and the food is fresh and very yummy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherswud B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherswud B&B

Address: 121 Helston Road, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherswud B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cherswud B&B to your Saves list