We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish & Chips with a brew” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's Brewbar

Mac's Brewbar
4 Taranaki Street, Wellington, New Zealand
381 2282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 630 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
las vegas
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips with a brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a fabulous lunch at Mac's Brewbar. The fish and chips was excellent when coupled with a a pitcher or two of bee. We happened to be in Wellington during the International Sevens Rugby festival so Mac's was absolutely loaded with costumed people having a great time. Big screen just outside...there was a constant flow of surprises.....enough said. Enjoy. The only downside of our afternoon were the huge winds on the deck but then it was windy Wellington.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    60
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great atmosphere to catch up with friends. Great food and drinks brewed in house. Worth a visit if you are in the area. It's walking distance from Te Papa so good to sit back and relax after a strenuous day sightseeing!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious and quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I visited Mac's brew bar with a couple of colleagues for a quick after work dinner. The service was good - the staff were attentive but not intrusive. We all happened to order the same dish - the fish, which was fresh and delicious, a perfect portion size and weighted very well with the accompanying vegetables.
It's a nice view in Wellington out to the water as well - sit in the window or outdoors if you can.
All up a good experience - I would go back there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Make mine a large one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a fabulous place. I seem to be using that word a lot about New Zealand and I mean it. Visited Mac's right after going to Te Papa having already sampled some of their product elsewhere (!) but, believe me, this place is the business. The menu is superb, all of the food is freshly prepared to order and I can vouch for the quality. But let's be honest, you don't really go to a brewbar for the food! I already said that I had tried the beer elsewhere and I had - but here.......? It is on draught or draft (whichever way you want it spelled!) so no fiddling around with the meagre measure provided in the standard bottle - have pint! One word of warning - keep off the Black, I want ALL of that for myself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“standard pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

service is very hit and miss and food is standard stuff. breakfast leaves a little to be desired as does the taste of the fish.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's Brewbar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Mac's Brewbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac's Brewbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.