We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, atmosphere at a very reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leuven Belgian Beer Cafe

Leuven Belgian Beer Cafe
135-137 Featherston Street, Wellington, New Zealand
04 499 2939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 697 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere at a very reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice mussel platter we shared as an entree, followed by by a beautifully cooked steak - salmon all very nicely presented. It all tasted great!
Even-though it is a big place it still felt cozy and pleasant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    56
    12
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Have been many times over the years but it is always just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Leuven is a somewhat frustrating place. The food is nice and the venue is great but the service is never that friendly and the price of drinks is too high for the small glasses.

They do a good value breakfast, and the coffee is better than average. I will continue to go back from time to time because of it's location (close to people I meet semi-regular) but I never have high hopes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were invited to meet some colleagues here for breakfast and thought a beer cafe was a bit of a strange place to go for break lie but we were pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Green lip mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a very good bar in the central business area of Wellington. I have visited this place in the past and obviously it is a bar t5hat you return to. The food is excellent with several choices of differently prepared green lip mussels. The beer is good but like many things in NZ expensive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing. Staff is overworked and take it out on you.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was impressive at first. The host welcomes you to the restaurant, steers you to sit at one of the bar stools while waiting for a table. Then it goes downhill after that. We were promised the table that people had just left. We told the waitress we were waiting for the table and she said, exasperated, that she didn't know when she would have time to clean up that table. What? We were patient and were looking at the menu and didn't notice that another waitress had cleaned up the table and sat another couple! We tried to complain, but no one would stop to listen to us. After about 20 minutes (really,we should have left but what was open on Easter Sunday evening?), the host said to us 'clearly there was a misunderstanding' so they offered us a table downstairs, which I found out, was like banning us to antarctica. There were other people there happily eating but no one came to check in on us. My husband had to go back up the stairs to flag down our waitress. This experience really upset me. We had the mussels (there was a promotional 2-for-1 special that night) and it was dampened by the service. The mussels weren't all that great. The seasonings were not very pronounced. The mussles were offered in a variety of sauces. My husband had the coconut lime sauce while I had the basil garlic sauce. We couldn't taste the sauce at all. If I weren't so upset by the service, I think I would have been forgiving on the food. It's too bad the staff don't rely on tips because I definitely would have made my disappointment clear by not leaving a tip. I wouldn;t recommend this place until they stepped up their service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leuven Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Leuven Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leuven Belgian Beer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.