We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk Wellington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hammonds Wellington Tours

Hammonds Wellington Tours
Tours Depart From the Wellington I-Site, Wellington 3382, New Zealand
+64 4-472 0869
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$156*
and up
Ranked #4 of 70 Activities in Wellington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on board and experience Wellington's original sightseeing tour. Sit back, relax and enjoy your tour, with local, fun and informative guides. Hammonds Wellington Tours are 56 years young and offer personalised tours showcasing Wellington's stunning scenery. We love showing off the Wellington region to the world and you will depart our tours with fond memories of this beautiful part of New Zealand. Our tours include Wellington City Sights, Kapiti Coast Kiwi Experience, Martinborough Gourmet Wine Tour, Palliser Bay- off the Beaten Track and the Capital Craft Beer Tour. Book today with Hammonds Wellington Tours, we promise you won't be disappointed!
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Walk Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was a last minute idea, but it was well worth it. A two hour walking tour of the city beginning at the i-Site Visitor Center and ending at the Old St Paul's Cathedral. It included going in and out of buildings to see the history of the city which you will miss by just walking down the street. The groups are about 10 - 15 people. Remember to wear your walking shoes as it covers the city! The cost was $20. It departs at 10 am.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wellington Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Booked the Wellington Tour because we were visiting for the day from a cruise ship. The 2pm tour looked good for a quick visit to some attractions, especially the Weta Cave which we really wanted to visit. Well the harbour views and gardens were great, but they took so much time we skipped the Weta Cave. Very dissapointing because the driver basically didn't tell us and said we should have asked to stop there. Can't figure that one out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great tout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We did the Wellington city tour with Paul as our guide..Paul was very good at pointing things out as we drove along and was happy to answer any questions. Would recommend this tour. The tour went for 2.5 hours during that time we went to the top of the cable car for anyone who wanted a one way ride then we met them at the bottom of the hill, we went through the city centre, past the parliament buildings up to Mt Victoria lookout (a few stairs to climb there), to the Old St Paul's cathedral and drove the Botannical gardens.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scenic nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family did this trip a week ago whilst visiting Wellington. The tour guide did nothing but insult Australians for the whole 2.5hours. I felt sorry for the other people on the bus who had no idea what was going on from other countries. The tour did not do as we were directed by the information centre with stops too long in some parts and not long enough in others. We asked several times for the vents to be turned on throughout the bus but there was no air in the bus, either fresh or air conditioning except for the driver. He was quite rude when asked. We actually had to ask the driver to pull over so that we weren't vomiting in the aisles.needless to say we got off the bus early and walked back rather than putting up with any more. Definately would never recommend this company to anyone!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Great Driver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our City and Coastline tour. A wonderful way to see Wellington. Our driver, Paul, made this tour great. He has such a terrific personality and is extremely well informed. He was very considerate of his passengers and showed that extra bit of care for their comfort, safety, and answered everyone's questions and requests. Paul also stopped at several sights with ample time to take pictures which we liked. We have been on many tours but Paul was truly an outstanding guide and driver. We were very satisfied with this tour company and would highly recommend it. We felt we saw so much of the Wellington area and learned so much in a few hours. Hammond's is very lucky to have Paul as an employee and such a positive representative for their company.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammonds Wellington Tours also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Hammonds Wellington Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammonds Wellington Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.