We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Wellington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Stay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gourmet Stay to your Saves list
Gourmet Stay
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best place in Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the best place we have stayed in Wellington on our multiple trips to this city. It was warm and comfortable, great service and we had a superb breakfast in the cafe below in the morning. Great location (5 min walk from Cuba St and 10 min walk from Courtney Place), we loved it, and will definitely stay here when we are next in Wellington.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    28
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
49
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I chose the dorm room at Gourmet Stay over other backpackers like YHA and wasn't disappointed. Sure, it costed more, but the 'personalised' atmosphere and service and overall experience were worth the money. There is only one dorm room, with 3 beds, so it would never get too crowded. The room was on the smaller side, but the beds really comfortable and most importantly the whole building was very clean. Gourmet Stay also operates a cafe that puts on good breakfasts and other meals, but only for very limited hours it seemed.

However, there are some good cafes and restaurants within the area, most of which are along Cuba St, a 5min walk from GS. Wellington is very compact anyway; most sights are within 30mins walking.

The only downside was the noise. The dorm room is next to the laundry, so staff and other guests go in and out through the day and evening, and further, the doors tend to slam very loudly; my advice would be to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: The dorm room is quite noisy through the day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GourmetStay1, Owner at Gourmet Stay, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your review we always appreciate feedback and look for ways to improve our accommodation.

I thought i should note that during the period you stayed, many Wellington services close down for the holiday break. Our hotel laundry services are normally completed off site at a commercial laundry, however over the two week Christmas / New Year period we had to wash the linen ourselves in our commercial washer, so there would have been a significant amount of extra laundry carried out. Normally the rooms are not occupied during the day and it is not too much of an issue.

I apologize for the additional noise during your stay and i have spoken with our housekeeper and asked that he checks with adjacent guests before washes the linen over next years Christmas break.

The other aspect was the limited hours of the Cafe during the Christmas break. We are open all year from 7.00am until 2.00 pm with a good variety of breakfasts, lunches, espresso coffees and scones. Over the Christmas break however, we only open for breakfast , providing a good food selection and closing around 10.30 - 11.00am.

As you noted there are many good alternative cafes and eating establishments nearby, so we hoped it would not be too much inconvenience, while our staff had a well earned break.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Gournet Stay at the end of December 2012. Whilst the hotel is in a fairly quiet street, it's only a few minutes walk away from Cuba St shops, Havana bar and the Light House cinema.

The staff were extremely helpful, and make a great coffee downstairs to boot!

The room itself was simple but spacious, with a big comfy bed and our room also had an outdoor hot tub, which was a blessing on a surprisingly cold day!

Perfect for a short stay in Wellington.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very kind and helpful hosts. We had had to cancel our stay last minute (we later shifted it one night forward) due to being trapped in Milford Sound. Mark was helpful and understanding and waived the cancellation fee. The room was very clean and the bedding a very high standard. Enormous bunks!! Free wifi (a treal treat in NZ). Immaculately clean bathrooms. The cafe that they also run here looked really good - sorry that we weren't around long enough to give it a whirl.Not a bad location - not far from Cuba Street, where we got some great, cheap food. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed in a private/en-suite room for 2 nights. We arrived early, having opted to try and get the most out of our day and were able to store our bags until check in. The friendly woman behind the cafe counter was happy to point us in the direction of shopping and sights to kill time before check in. We found shopping, sights and a range of eating options within a short walk which was a bonus. Later that afternoon, we had the only hiccup of our stay when we returned to properly check in. There was some confusion when we tried to collect our bags over if we were leaving or checking in but it was quickly sorted and we were shown to our room on the top floor. The room was big enough that we didn't feel like we were in each others space and the bathroom was much bigger than we expected. Despite the hotels small size, we barely saw or heard any other guests which made for very peaceful nights sleep! After an issue with the wireless on our second night, a phone call later and we were quickly visited and the issue sorted, better than the service you'd find at some larger hotels! Gourmet Stay is the perfect choice if you'd rather save your money to sample the sights and food Wellington has to offer, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had a lovely experience here at Gourmet Stay due to a bit of luck, but mostly because of the thoughtful touches put into the hotel. I had originally reserved a bed in the dorm room, but was upgraded to a double, which I had to myself for the two nights I spent in Wellington. This was definitely a welcome surprise, as I had just come from staying in dorms in hostels in Auckland and Rotorua. I of course appreciated the quality bedding, the free tea and coffee, and the wonderful food available in the cafe on the ground floor (one of the owners is a chef), but small things like the TopTips board at the entrance and having a quick chat with the owners made my stay memorable. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for centrally located accommodation in Wellington that breaks the mold of larger chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Gourmet Stay is quite a gem. Located in the heart of Wellington, handy to hundreds of restaurants, it is the perfect place to stay and not pay a fortune. Another highlight is the great breakfast that can be bought from the cafe downstairs. Not all rooms have ensuites but those that don't have dedicated bathrooms very close.

Room Tip: Maybe pay a little extra and get an ensuite?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gourmet Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gourmet Stay

Address: 25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gourmet Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet Stay is a cool little boutique hotel, especially designed to provide excellent accommodation for the discerning budget conscious traveller. Gourmet stay is a comfortable, modern design with soft tones and is warm and inviting and friendly. At Gourmet stay we unashamedly promote Wellington as the culinary capital of New Zealand and support our thriving local artisan producers and suppliers. We have our own coffee bar and deli on the ground floor where you can enjoy breakfast. Lunch items are available to enjoy in house or to take with you as you explore the city. Our desire is to offer food that is locally sourced, nutritious and delicious. We are also able to recommend our favourite bars and restaurants. You will love the convenience of staying in our vibrant location in the heart of all the action. Gourmet Stay is located in Frederick Street, a quiet side street in the centre of Wellington city. There is no need for a car here! It is a 5 minute walk to the entertainment and theatre district of Courtenay Place . We do have several off street car parks available if you require parking.Courtenay Place is also home to a diverse range of excellent restaurants and bars. The lovely waterfront with its many promenades is only 5 minutes away. We are approximately 15 minutes by car to the airport. About 2 kms north of Gourmet Stay is the Railway Station from which a train service to Auckland departs and the station is also the hub for the suburban transport network. We are about 3.0 kilometres from the Interislander Ferry terminal. Ferries leave from here to take you to the South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gourmet Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.