We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed with the customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Interislander Cook Strait Ferry

Interislander Cook Strait Ferry
Aotea Quay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-498 2110
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$57*
and up
Ranked #15 of 70 Activities in Wellington
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Find out why 36 million New Zealanders can't be wrong. Okay, so there's a few tourists in there too. But that's how many passengers Interislander has carried over the Cook Strait since our first sailing in 1962. Cruise from Wellington to Picton in the stunning Marlborough Sounds in just over three hours on the three largest Cook Strait ferries in New Zealand. Extensive viewing decks, luxurious premium lounges and choice of cafes and bars. Plenty to keep the kids entertained - and plenty for mum and dad too. Cars, motorhomes, coaches- all vehicles are welcome, just drive on, drive off. And for the rental car providers that can't cross, just drop off your car at the rental depots based at the terminals then walk onboard - easy! Interislander's been doing this for over 50 years, so you know you are in good hands. And with eleven sailings per day, our timetable is bound to fit yours. Don't just cross the Strait, cruise it with Interislander and make your perfect holiday, perfect from the very start.
Bourg-la-Reine, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with the customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We booked the ferry to cross from Welligton to Picton, booking the 3pm boat to be able to see the landscapes during the crossing. But the day before departure we received an email saying that the ferry would be 6 hours late. We called the Customer service the next morning (the day of departure) and they said the delay would be 30 minutes only. Then another email was sent that said 3 hours delay. A bit confusing...
In the end we had to wait for 6 hours in the ferry terminal, with very little information and not even a hot drink while it was freezing. We finally crossed by night and could see nothing, and arrived in Picton at 1am instead of 6pm. We can understand delays, but please handle them properly!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    325
    110
    42
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stabilizers keep it from rocking side-to-side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Most stay inside and drink and then get a bit seasick. It's funny how this can be contagious just by looking at an afflicted person. Skip all that: dress warmly (we had sweaters under our rain pants and jackets - it was windy with moderate seas) and stay outside. The ship had a fair rock fore & aft but almost none side-to-side (even when the waves were broadside). This must be due to a stabilizer and I was impressed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua NZ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“How awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have been on a few ferries around the world, some good, some bad, but for sheer lack of organization, constant delays, and badly maintained vessels this ferry system takes a lot of beating! I understand the problems facing a ferry company faced with the weather problems and the vast amount of traffic, but if the allies invasion of Europe in 1944 had attempted to put all the troops, guns, tanks and men onto one vessel they too would have failed. Surely the answer is simple - more ships - smaller size, faster turn around! The lifts didn't always work and the toilets were filthy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely ferry, smooth journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The ferry that we were on was the largest one in service and was fabulous. Despite the ferry being full, you didn't feel like this was the case, there was plenty of seating, very comfortable seats and some great eating options. Fortunately our journey was very smooth that day so all in all a great way to travel

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just when you think things cant get worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We booked for a 9am sailing, but bad weather cancelled that, as we were informed at 4pm the day before, meaning an expensive motel near the ferry thinking we would be likely to sail a day later. But not so, after hours of trying to communicate with the staff by phone only to find their computer system had crashed and to ring back mid morning the next day. Finally getting through to find that our tickets were cancelled and rebooking meant 5 days later! and they wanted to charge a fee for changing our booking !!($42). Having booked the premium lounge at an additional $90 for two (non refundable) meant that we were forced to take a later sailing. The Premium Lounge was full and the standard of service the worst we have ever experienced with them. After a 35min wait in our vehicle we finally disembarked.
In all a very disappointing and costly experience - A service that I can no longer recommend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interislander Cook Strait Ferry also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Interislander Cook Strait Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interislander Cook Strait Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.