We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Interislander Cook Strait Ferry

Interislander Cook Strait Ferry
Aotea Quay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-498 2110
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Interislander Cook Strait Ferry like an insider
$55*
and up
Ranked #21 of 189 things to do in Wellington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Find out why 36 million New Zealanders can't be wrong. Okay, so there's a few tourists in there too. But that's how many passengers Interislander has carried over the Cook Strait since our first sailing in 1962. Cruise from Wellington to Picton in the stunning Marlborough Sounds in just over three hours on the three largest Cook Strait ferries in New Zealand. Extensive viewing decks, luxurious premium lounges and choice of cafes and bars. Plenty to keep the kids entertained - and plenty for mum and dad too. Cars, motorhomes, coaches- all vehicles are welcome, just drive on, drive off. And for the rental car providers that can't cross, just drop off your car at the rental depots based at the terminals then walk onboard - easy! Interislander's been doing this for over 50 years, so you know you are in good hands. And with eleven sailings per day, our timetable is bound to fit yours. Don't just cross the Strait, cruise it with Interislander and make your perfect holiday, perfect from the very start.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We (me & my wife) did the trip on a sunny Sunday, November 25th 2012. it's a big adventure for us, who live in Czech Republic, everytime we travel by sea.

The ferry was so HUGE & comfortable! Though I didn't spent too much time inside since the wheather was exceptionally fine. We saw beautifull Wellington panorama very soon after we left Queen Wharf. But it was nothing compared to what we saw when we approached and entered Queen Charlotte Sound on the Southern Island. I strongly recommend the trip to everybody. Only poor wheather might limit the experience. Hope you'll be lucky as we were. ;-)

Additionally, we took a 20 minutes hydroplane flight from Picton harbour just to see more of the area. All I can say now is: this is the place where we would like to live!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    444
    141
    48
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Get the premo package!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We got lucky with some nice weather on the Kaitaki with the Kaitaki Plus package. My wife and I were first in and scored the best couches and blankets. Kick your shoes off, put your feet up and enjoy the view. Breakfast was served promptly, unlimited drinks and snacks later on. Got to see some dolphins which was cool. After a kip we decided to go out onto the roof whilst going through the sounds which was good for some pics but we soon went back to our nice couches away from the kiddies and the cold.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sailing on the Interislander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Another great trip, friendly staff, comfortable seating, good food and amazing scenery. We have travelled many times by ferry across the strait and always appreciate the excellent service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A New Zealand must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A wonderful way to travel beween the two islands. Very relaxing and wonderful scenery. We sat up the top and spent most of the journey just watching. Weather was kind and had smooth sailings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“TAKE A PLANE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

TAKE THE PLANE. Ferry services are cancelled at will and without warning. Had to pay for extra hotel room not planned due to poor service even though weather was fine. Once on sth island, won't be at destination till 2am due ti poor service of ferry company. Pick your act up really!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interislander Cook Strait Ferry also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Interislander Cook Strait Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interislander Cook Strait Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.