We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Interislander Cook Strait Ferry

Interislander Cook Strait Ferry
Aotea Quay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-498 2110
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$57*
and up
Ranked #15 of 70 Activities in Wellington
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Find out why 36 million New Zealanders can't be wrong. Okay, so there's a few tourists in there too. But that's how many passengers Interislander has carried over the Cook Strait since our first sailing in 1962. Cruise from Wellington to Picton in the stunning Marlborough Sounds in just over three hours on the three largest Cook Strait ferries in New Zealand. Extensive viewing decks, luxurious premium lounges and choice of cafes and bars. Plenty to keep the kids entertained - and plenty for mum and dad too. Cars, motorhomes, coaches- all vehicles are welcome, just drive on, drive off. And for the rental car providers that can't cross, just drop off your car at the rental depots based at the terminals then walk onboard - easy! Interislander's been doing this for over 50 years, so you know you are in good hands. And with eleven sailings per day, our timetable is bound to fit yours. Don't just cross the Strait, cruise it with Interislander and make your perfect holiday, perfect from the very start.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The Interislander never fails to give passengers a great experience from start to finish - friendly staff-comfortable seating and a view that is amazing. We opted to upgrade to the lounge where the staff could not do enough to help. I had to change the date of my return and they were so helpful in assisting me- five stars all the way

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    325
    110
    42
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip on Interislander Cook Strait Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had a great trip to the south island and back with the Interislander Cook Strait Ferry.Drove my van on board, very easy as the crew were good at directing vehicles.Same for exiting the boat. The on board lounge,is well worth the price. Crew were great, refreshment excellent and the couches very very comfortable. View from the lounge was good, as we could see the beautiful scenery of the sounds. Will be using this company again for my next trip to the south island taking my van.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable part of our 22day trip to NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was really easily booked and paid for in England. We were offered an earlier sailing as we arrived at Picton early. We just sat at the front in the lounge and the scenery is stunning. There was a cheap bus to take us to the Wellington rail station at the other end which was perfect as we were staying in the Wellington Backpackers which is right opposite the station.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good and efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked our Interislander ferry whilst in the UK and received 10% discount as we had purchased a Top 10 card.

Our Internet booking was easily made and booking confirmation promptly emailed back to us.

The Picton terminal was clearly signposted - really you can't miss it - and we arrived an hour before the ferry sailing as requested, although the previous sailing had not yet begun disembarking.

Loading the motorvan onto the ferry was straightforward.

There were plenty of seats on board as well as deck areas from which to enjoy the spectacular scenery and passing dolphins.

The cafeteria services seemed good, although we only used it for hot drinks and a late breakfast of scrambled eggs on toast. The scrambled eggs were freshly cooked and delicious, by the way.

When my husband mislaid his glasses the staff in the shop were most helpful and they were quickly returned.

Having used UK - France ferries on many occasions over the years I think interislander ferries are as good as many and better than some. Book with confidence..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
“Enjoyable Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The trip to South Island and back was most enjoyable, the scenery superb, the weather was sunny albeit a bit windy and the Ferry comfortable. You may wish to spend much of the journey on the upper deck looking at the scenery or looking for dolphins, whichever, it is a worthwhile trip and one of course you have to make to get from Island to the other, so enjoy it. The Ferry's are comfortable and clean and offer all you need for the time of the crossing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interislander Cook Strait Ferry also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Interislander Cook Strait Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interislander Cook Strait Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.