We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tapas and cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Bar and Cafe

Havana Bar and Cafe
34 Wigan Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
4 3847039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 648 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas and cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Why we went: This bar and restaurant was recommended by our student daughter who lives nearby.
The ambience: The restaurant is in two converted wooden cottages. One contains the bar, the other the restaurant. The kitchen is open and visible from the restaurant which is small and busy. The decor is artfully dishevelled chic. I understand the paintwork is touched up by weta artists to look old.
The Food: a selection of tasty, fresh tapas dishes which are shared. We liked the prawns, fried haloumi and crushed potatoes.
The Price: Not cheap. Although the dishes themselves are around $15, it takes a fair few to fill everyone up.
The Bar: Had some nice cocktails. I liked the pomegranate martini.
Overall: A great night out

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Secret foodies spot in Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Don't be fooled by its location and exterior. Once you are inside a whole world of international cuisine awaits with Havana's tapas. We took the family (2 teenagers who have dined very well around Oz and NZ since they were 5 years old.) 8 different tapas including beef skewers to die for, grilled prawns, pork belly, breads with homemade hummus and olives. We loved it and found the staff friendly and attentive. The drinks selection was small but well thought out. Wine by the glass sorted out my wife and I different tastes with the tapas. Beers cold. All in all a place to visit when in Wellington if you are a food tourist desperate to find some good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wellington's little Cuba!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is so much fun especially when there's a latin band there which there so often is in the bar section. Its beautifully decorated, like a piece of latin America, could be CUba, Guatemala, Brazil, its perfect for a drink and the food at the adjoining restaurant is wonderful. Staff are super friendly and there's an atmosphere of camaraderie between them that enhances your dining experience. Super cool is that its opposite the new Lighthouse cinema as well, wine , dine and movie night..perfect..actually I mean purrrfect!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Both were impressed by the level of service, ambience and the food,
The beef dish was melt in the mouth and very tasty, the mash dreamy creamy.
My partner was equally impressed by his dishes.
They tend to serve smaller portions that need to be partnered with vegetable, carb or salad sides.
But the overall experience was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato, new Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This Bar/Cafe is a MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend in Wellington. We were recommended this bar by one of the many friendly retailers which you will find in the heart of the city. Although The Havana is a little off the beaten track (tucked down a one way street a little out of the way) it is well worth seeking out.

The service was OUTSTANDING, the drinks were very reasonable and the food was delightful! We had 5 tapas dishes between us, my husband had beer and we also had wine. Altogether our meal and drinks totaled $130. I believe we got value for money and this was because of the food, great service, drinks and amazing atmosphere. What a very cool and groovy concept to set up such a bar/cafe in an old house and it suited the entire Cuban theme - way cool indeed! Keep up the good work Havana - can we please have one closer to where I live?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Bar and Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Havana Bar and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Bar and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.