We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancestral Bar & Restaurant

Ancestral Bar & Restaurant
31 Coutenay Place | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
04 801 8867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 634 restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Been here for lunch and dinner a few times, consistently beautiful food, great service and wonderful atmosphere! The chicken and eggplant salad was goorrrgeous, melted in your mouth and the 20 hour half duck never fails to impress. Expensive but never dissapoint!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    17
    20
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great date night place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Classic flavours married with New Zealand sensibilities. Great ambience and food. Expensive but always a good night out. Cigars out the back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Never fails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Working in Wellington for 18 months meant a chance to try a few great restaurants. Ancestral is well positioned along the Courtney Place strip with a subdued facade that is easy to miss bec ause it is more subtle than some of its rowdy neighbours. The food and the service have always been very good, with the exception of one slip-up where a booking went in for the wrong date. However, when I arrived the staff were most accommodating. The food is always brilliant, very clearly cooked and presented for sharing and with variety for egetarians, vegans, meat and fish lovers alike. The wine list is good, too, with some very nice bottle of something "special" in the "cellar". The duck is great, the prawns delicious, the crayfish on hot stones just wonderful, the clams a real surprise and the desserts are completely unnecessary and to die for. Do it. Getting a booking wrong, being kept waiting 10 minutes to be noticed upon entry one time and a penchant for playing their stereo somewhat too loud for such an establishment has robbed them of a five-star rating. But when in Wellington do try it. It's become a favourite. Wonderful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Asian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Went to Ancestral for the first time last week food and service were excellent. The 20 hour half duck was superb as was the black pepper beef, my partner was really impressed with the Canterbury poussin. We will go back for the eight treasure duck (three day preorder!) Amazing fitout and the service from our San Francisco based waiting staff was first
class

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of our favourites.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great food and excellent service. Asian food with a difference. Whether you are a couple or a group, I recommend that you order several dishes to share, and accept the recommendations of your waiter.The location in Courtney Place and quick service, means that It's an ideal restaurant to eat before going to the theatre. During the recent International Arts Festival in Wellington, we dined at Ancestral several times before wandering down the road to the theatre. The restaurant staff ensured our meals were served promptly so we were always out the door in plenty of time to get to our show.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancestral Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ancestral Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancestral Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.