We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, busy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siem Reap Restaurant

Siem Reap Restaurant
99 Dixon Street, Wellington, New Zealand
04-385 4590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 631 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cambodian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, busy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Starter was good, main was excellent

Fit us in without a booking but just barely, not sure if just xmas season or if you need to book regularly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Will be back next week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Decided to go here As a celebration with my partner after reading the rave reviews. He can be quite picky so was apprehensive of what he would think. We had the rice rolls which were just huge in comparison to other rice paper rolls from similar places in town. He ordered the pork but we were given something else by mistake which was really nice so a happy mistake. The mains were huge, so much so that I got a full take away container as a doggy bag. The flavours were amaZing and I liked that you could choose the meat for most dishes. When comparing this one to some other well known Asian places in town I think siem reap is better quality, better portions, better value for money and better atmosphere. Having parents here next week from out of town gives us an excuse to go back next week!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Cambodian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well worth a visit if you like Cambodian cuisine. Parking isn't too much of an issue in this part of Dixon Street. A reservation isn't necessary at lunch time however it gets very busy in the evenings with larger groups so it pays to make a reservation. The staff are friendly and attentive and the decor tasteful. The menu is extensive, and the main meals reasonably large. The flavours are wonderfully authentic but not too "chilli" hot, although I am sure they would cater to all tastes . My partner had a beer and whilst we would usually have had wine I was curious to try one of their mocktails "Nikita". It was delicious with fresh pineapple, passionfruit, lime and lemon grass. We were so full after our meal that neither of us had room for dessert, even though there was a good selection of Cambodian desserts on offer. We used our entertainment card and received 25% off our bill. I am a regular at this restaurant and keep going back because the food is so delicious. Regardless of whether you are a party of two or a large group the service is very good. You should try it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great fresh tasting food, nice atmosphere and good sized portions. Helpful friendly staff.
Three of us went on a Thursday night and was no need to book. We ordered quite different mains from each other and all were delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Tasty Cambodian Food with some western twists - suitable for coeliacs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Cambodian-operated restaurant is very popular, with almost all tables full on a Friday night. The menu has a wide selection of Cambodian meals with a few Indonesian / Malaysian options as well. They have a separate gluten-free menu with a good variety of options. I had the squid entree and the fish amok mains. As they are fully licensed, you can't bring your own bottle of wine. The bottle of wine we had was quite nice and reasonably priced.

We spent some time in Siem Reap, Cambodia earlier this year and whilst there I decided to specialise in Fish Amok for dinner most nights so as to taste how different chefs made it. The Wellington restaurant's version was reasonably authentic, though they Westernised the dish by adding an egg to it. This had the effect of binding together the ingredients, so the slightly gritty texture of the Amok dishes (courtesy of the pounded herbs and spices) I had whilst dining in the town of Siem Reap was not present in the Wellington-restaurant version.

The staff were attentive and provided free bottles of tap water with efficient re-fills. Meals were served quite quickly, which was nice given the crowd.

Meals were reasonably priced, though it did cost more for a mains than a nice hotel room does for the night in the town of Siem Reap ;-)

Overall, I'd dine here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siem Reap Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Siem Reap Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siem Reap Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.