We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bella Italia

La Bella Italia
10 Nevis Street | Petone, Wellington 5045, New Zealand
04 566 9303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Café, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: From the moment you step through our door, you will feel like you are in Italy. A unique combination of a Restaurant, Cafe and Retail shop, La Bella Italia in Petone, Wellington was born from director Antonio Cacace's passion to educate Kiwis about the beauty of traditional, authentic Italian products and cuisine.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Full of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were worried the restaurant was full, but they found us a table. We were immediately given water, and had our wine order taken, and we only had a short wait before our our meal arrived,, an antipasto platter and a salmon penne pasta. The desserts looked lovely, but we didn't have room. The tables were very close together, which was nice, you felt a real family atmosphere. A very enjoyable Sunday lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great for the family, for a romantic dinner, for a quick coffee and cake. A glass of wine and some antipasti... Some shopping. You can't go past Bella, and the staff are friendly, helpful and inviting everytime.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Restaurant with extra features makes for nice night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Alovely 3 course meal of Italian crusine was had by four adults. All felt it was great value for money. The addition of shop in restaurant seeling Italian foods and goods was a lovely addition as was the large selection of meats and cheeses for purchase. Would definately return to this resturant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great team at La Bella Italia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been to La Bella Italia many times and it has never disappointed. It is a vibrant restaurant run by a competent team. We are now greeted as regulars and have had consistently excellent service. It is more than a restaurant, with a large deli section and shop with everything you need for an Italian meal at home.

The food is fresh, seasonal and always well-prepared. The pizzas and whole fish are particularly good and the wine list complements the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy in Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This restaurant bought back memories of Rome. The tables are really close together and cosy just like when we were in Rome. Went here for Brunch with a Grab One Voucher. Food and service was great. Love the shopping as we managed to spend a lot more than we anticipated in the Deli and shop section!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Italia also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to La Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bella Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.