We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke Carvell's

Duke Carvell's
6 Swan Lane, Wellington, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited Wellington for the WOW show , Went for breakfast with my daughter and her friend the food was delicious , great service , loved it

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    27
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great atmosphere and incredible service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had to wait for a table on a busy Saturday night, but we had drinks and nibbles and we're constantly updated on our wait by the amazing waiting staff. A jazz band were playing who were great and added to the brilliant atmosphere. Would love to go back very soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good times and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Always wondered what the buzz was in the little corner of Swan Lane. Last Sunday decided to go and see. Place was quite full but we were found a table, great service with the drinks quickly arriving. Nice choice of tapas small plate sharing fairly priced. Bruschetta was delicious with a good tangy blue cheese, grape and rosemary topping; one portion was enough for three. Other tasting plates were excellent as well. Cheese board was good but felt a little let down with the other deserts and their price. Fantastic attentive but not in your face service, my daughter dropped her spoon and quickly a waiter was there to offer new cutlery. Great ambience with an eclectic mix of period prints, funky place and well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding service & food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

7 people celebrating an investiture dinner. Ralph the waiter was professional & helped set the mood for the evening. Tapas style plate sharing - the food was outstanding, presentation, taste & excellent value for money!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best gnocchi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a delicious meal here with friends. The food was fabulous, the atmosphere is great and it was a thoroughly enjoyable evening. The stars of the show were the mushroom gnocchi and the flaming cheese. I thoroughly recommend them!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke Carvell's also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Duke Carvell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke Carvell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.