We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Cottages to your Saves list
City Cottages
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The City Cottage offered one of the most comfortable stays that we had had for our recent trip to both the N and S Islands of NZ. Not only did City Cottage offer the comfort of a home, it is ideally located close to some very nice restaurants, lovely boutiques and the national museum. The offer of free WiFi, dish washer and the washing machine/ dryer is wonderful. There were two beds (a queen and a double sofa bed) which was sufficient for our family of four. While the cottage is located in the town centre, we did not get any noise from traffic or any of the neighbours.

Room Tip: we stayed in Cottage 7 and it was really comfortable and nicely presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at City Cottages, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Wow! What a great review! Thank you. We don't aim to be the best in New Zealand - just to want offer a good nights sleep and the amenities of a kitchen, laundry, wifi and parking at a reasonable price. But thanks for the compliment. Kind regards, Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
74
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A hidden gem! Spotlessly Clean throughout, with good facilities-kitchen(well set up), washing machine/dryer. Bed excellent, bathroom very good. Excellent location.Parking spot worth a mint.The biscuits and breakfast provisions were excellent. A myriad of fantastic eateries right on tap ranging from excellent fish and chips at Wellington Seafood Supplies, to cafes such as Fidel's and a huge range of restaurants from Ombras and Floriditas to the award winning Logan Browne & also Matterhorn. Easy walking distance to the waterfront and major Wellington attractions e.g. Te Papa Museum, Cable Car, Botanic Gardens and great shopping. Highly recommend these cottages in the inner city, we slept very well. Stayed 3 nights and would stay again.Were able to leave our ports until 12 noon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Manager at City Cottages, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hi Terry - Thank you for your glowing review. There are indeed lots of great eating spots within a couple minutes walk and it is great that you slept so well. Just to be clear for future guests, we no longer offer the optional breakfast basket (there are so many breakfast options close), but there are still cookies, fresh coffee, tea and milk in the cottage. Thanks again for staying, Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here during our 2 days stay in Wellington on 14-16 December 2013. Very clean and tidy. Great and unique cottage accommodation with full facilities. kitchen, washing machine/dryer. Located near the happening Cuba street and has its own parking space. Within walking distance to city centre and a lot of restaurants and cafes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at City Cottages, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights in number 5 of the City Cottages in Wellington. The cottage was very clean, with a kitchen and a washing machine and a very nice bathroom. The cottages are very nicely renovated. The location was very central and we could easily walk into Cuba Street and to the Te Papa Museum and other places.
The only downside for us was that due to the central inner city location we found the street noise a bit too loud, of course this is to be expected in this location and we slept surprisingly well despite the noise. Nevertheless, we would recommend staying there as the cottages are very cozy and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at City Cottages, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. Noise is a problem anywhere in the central city - but we are glad you were still able to sleep well. The bedroom is located as far from the traffic noise as possible and we are lucky to be at the end of Cuba Street furtherest away from the bars and early morning trash collections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wonderful location and very clean and pretty. The beds were comfortable and the sliding door made it very private. We loved being right in the center of Cuba Street and within walking distance of most of the city sites. Saturday night was a bit noisy, but Sunday was perfect. Having the parking was a bonus, we were able to go a bit farther afield and still know we had somewhere to park when we returned! I'd definitely stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cottages to anyone. The cookies were a nice touch too! The only negatives were a lack of faceclothes and no closets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Delightful character cottage with outdoor sitting area. Sunny and pretty with all amenities. Very clean with very comfortable beds and fluffy towels. Good location if you like nightlife. We had a great time dancing to a jazz band at the new "Cuba Street Laundry" just down the road. If you are a light sleeper then you may find it too noisy with traffic noise from the busy arterial route over the back fence and noise from people walking home after a good night out. We would stay here again if we came to Wellington. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

All mod cons and a parking space in central Wellington, what more could you want? We stayed at No 5 for two nights and found this a perfect city stopover. All of the city sites are within easy walking distance or a bus route. Cottage was well equipped and had free Wifi although this was a bit weak. Lots of city info in the cottage including a welcome copy of Lonely Planet. Would not hesitate to use again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at City Cottages, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your review - we are glad you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you again. Sadly the downside of any inner-city accommodation is occasional noise. The good news is we don't hear the bars themselves, we don't have rubbish trucks at 4am in the morning, or the noisy corridors of most hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Cottages

Address: 5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two heritage cottages built in 1880 and fully renovated 2010. Each cottage sleeps up two 4 guests (total 8) and comes with a carpark and wireless internet. Located in vibrant Cuba Quarter, within a few minutes walk of most Wellington attractions. Combine with nearby City Townhouse and City Bed and Breakfast to sleep a total of 18 people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your City Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.