We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Cottages to your Saves list
City Cottages
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking + Free Wifi
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I LOVE City Cottages. Very clean and tidy. The car parking is fantastic. There were just two of us down for a business trip and it was such a great location and the sliding door seperating off the bedroom is great. The internet was great for keeping the office running while we were away! I will be back for sure! And the owners are really great to deal with, friendly and helpful. For us the value was what sold it. Right in the city for such a great price and a car park without having to stay in an outdated motel! Have been reccommending this place to everyone I know.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    24
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
64
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend for Mumford & sons concert at the town hall. Cottage was so cute, really well restored with everything we needed. Particully liked the sky light in the bathroom. Cottage was really clean, warm & cosy. Only critism would be the noise, road & wind but that not the cottages fault & the sliding door that shut the bedroom in really helped. Also lack of hanging, didnt really bother us for the weekend but think it would if we stayed any longer & had more clothes.
Great location off Cuba street, short walk to waterfront & shops. Lots of cafes & bars on Cuba street.
No hassles checking in, door code was emailed to us a few days before and we had no issues at all so didnt need any help from the owners.
Great value for money as it included wifi and a parking space in the CBD. None of the hotels I have stayed in city do that. Will deffo be booking again next time we go to the Wellington.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Three of us stayed for 3 nights for the Wearable Arts show. Cottage was clean and tidy with modern decor. Fantastic that they've been so beautifully restored. We felt three adults filled it and were selfishly happy our fourth person had to cancel out !! We would have liked even a tiny wardrobe, though there was plenty of drawer space. Cute little garden which would be lovely on a warm summer evening. Location is fantastic with Fidels, El Matador, and a couple of other cafe/restaurants within easy walking distance. A comfortable walk to the CBD. Owners very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently stayed at 5 Tonks Grove for a week. I was not impressed. The place was clean and tidy and the location is good, but there were quite a few issues. For example, there were a series of minor things that added up. The coffee plunger was broken, the stove was faulty, the wifi was erratic, the place says it is 2 bedrooms but the second "bedroom" is an uncomfortable futon that doubles as a couch in the kitchen area. There are also no extra touches that you expect in a property like this. There are not even any facecloths in the bathroom. My key issue was that I was there during a windy week. The entire place shook in the wind. It must be cold in winter because there is only one wall heater and the wind comes in through cracks in the doors and windows. The worst was the window by the bed which banged all night with the wind. I couldn't do anything to fix it because the owners have put clear plexiglass over the entire window to display the trip advisor sign. It means you can't open the window and you can't stop the relentless banging. My friend stayed at the Comfort Inn down the road for a third of the price and had many hours more sleep than i did.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at City Cottages, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hello - Thank you for your review. I am sorry that our cottages did not meet your expectations. Sadly, the previous guests broke the plunger and the stove. As soon as you made us aware (a note on checkout) we fixed them both. We could have done this during your stay had we known.

It is 'Windy Wellington' - and sadly we cant change that. The double glazing that you refer to aims to reduce the impact of the wind (and conveniently provides a space to display our TripAdvisor 5 star certificate).

As well as the wall heater, there are two fan heaters and a bar heater. These are kept in the laundry cupboard as they are rarely needed. I am sorry you did not find them. There is also an electric blanket on the bed and a heated towel rail in the bathroom. Previous guests have found these more than adequate.

I am sorry that you did not call us, email us or speak to use when we were onsite as we could have helped make you stay more enjoyable.

Kind regards, Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights going to Wearable Arts. The Cottage was clean, tidy, spacious and very cute. Location brilliant - will not bother to hire a car next time. Have kept the link as would love to use again. Great having free WiFi. Fidel's Cafe just a 2 minute walk away - brilliant. Excellent communication and helpful advice from owners prior to our arrival. So much nicer than staying a hotel - lovely wee garden - had a visit from a Tui one morning much to our surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at 7 Tonks Grove recently, the cottage was perfect for our family of 4. Great location, well fitted out, clean and tidy. The owners were helpful and easily contactable throughout. The kitchen tap had a very powerful jet which got us wet the first few occasions until we got used to it. Overall, it was a great stay. Will return to this cottage next time we're in Wellington!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The City Cottages are in a location that is hard to beat. All the funky shops and good on Cuba St, with the necessary conveniences also very close by. A short and fun walk to the harbor and to Te Papa. Outstanding access to Highway 1 if you're driving into or out of the city.

We arrived to find the cottage assigned to us uncleaned, however. While preparing to sort out making a phone call to see what was going on, one of the proprietors arrived with his cleaning gear. He seemed quite surprised to see us, expressing even a touch of annoyance. He had said that he had been e-mailing for some time, to confirm reservations. I found this strange, since I hadn't received any messages after one with the code to access the cottage over a week earlier. He implied that he'd written us off as no-shows. Very odd, since several earlier e-mail messages had gone through properly. Maybe a transcription error at their end? My suggestion: follow-up proactively, to confirm your reservations and arrival dates and times, just to prevent mishaps.

Regarding the Cottage itself, it is laid out comfortably and well. Beware the in-cottage laundry, though... it is a strange combo washer/dryer I've never encountered or heard of in the U.S. While it washed clothes well, it was terrible at drying clothes (some sort of non-heating condenser dryer), and left everything horribly wrinkled. Lots of ironing, and hanging of clothes over chairs and over the wall heater to dry was required. For those used to this sort of machine, I'm sure it par for the course, but we found it much less useful than we'd expected.

Other than the rather odd and awkward welcome, we found the City Cottages a good value and a truly great location for the money... and would stay there again (with plans to do laundry elsewhere!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at City Cottages, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the cottage location and general setup.

I am sorry that you were not welcomed with a clean cottage. In your booking form you had asked for an early checkin. We did emailed back to say that you would be able to leave you bags, but that the cleaning might not be complete until 4pm, especially if the previous guest were late leaving. Unfortunately the email bounced back, meaning you were not informed of this.

Our washing machines are front loading washer/dryers with high environmental standards. They will not dry clothes completely if overloaded or if the clothes are of varying weights. In response to your feedback we are preparing more detailed instructions for use of the machines. Thanks for your input.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Cottages

Address: 5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two heritage cottages built in 1880 and fully renovated 2010. Each cottage sleeps up two 4 guests (total 8) and comes with a carpark and wireless internet. Located in vibrant Cuba Quarter, within a few minutes walk of most Wellington attractions. Combine with nearby City Townhouse and City Bed and Breakfast to sleep a total of 18 people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.