We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Cottages to your Saves list
City Cottages
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have a son attending Massey U so the location was great. Also close to restaurants and downtown. Loved having free parking. Continental breakfast included which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
74
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Three of us - two from the UK and an Australian friend - stayed here (at no. 5 Tonks Grove) twice during a couple of weeks in NZ and found the place wonderful. Surprisingly made from an old building that was used for other things for many years, it is now top quality self-catering accommodation, with the advantage of being within fall-out-of-the-door distance of the restaurant society of Cuba Street, yet in a quiet cul-de-sac. The chap who runs it was helpful and entertainingly chatty. A sliding partition separates the main bedroom off from the living/dining room/kitchen, which converts to second bedroom. Only down side was that our friend felt she wasn't getting entirely fair treatment over use of the internet regarding a matter of concern. But that point aside, everything was absolutely excellent, high quality and also cosy. A useful 'find' in the middle of Wellington - about a quarter of an hour's walk down to the waterfront, but only if you walk straight past all the eateries and arty shops of the 'Cuba Quarter' without stopping, which would be hard to do.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I have just returned from a fantastic trip to New Zealand, basing myself in 7 Tonks Grove for almost three weeks.

I can't give these cottages enough credit. Immaculately appointed, containing everything needed to the very last detail, making them like home away from home.

I met Dean shortly after my arrival, who made me feel very welcome, and was very hospitable.

I was, on booking this accommodation, slightly concerned about the cottages location, being on Cuba Street, but this proved to not be a problem at all. All the party goers don't venture that far up, resulting in the best of both worlds; close enough to stroll into the heart of the city, yet far enough away to avoid disturbances at night.

This will definitely be the one and only place I will stay going forward.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed for 12 nights at the end of April. We accepted the offer of a complimentary airport collection and having been delayed for an hour arrived to find Dean waiting very patiently and had a most affable disposition.
The cottage is located just off Cuba street and is very central. There are lovely restaurants nearby and most sights are within walking distance. Despite its central location noise was not an issue. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very, very comfortable. We would definately stay there if we visit Wellington again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We booked for 3 nights at the beginning of our NZ trip and enjoyed the stay so much we came back for our last 2 nights. The bed was the best ever - now we need to buy a new on for home. The basket of goodies was a great find on arrival. It is so close to great restaurants and cafes and walking distance to many places and the basket of information was very helpful. Dean was very helpful and friendly and the small issues we discovered were fixed when we returned for our second stay. There is drumming on Sunday afternoon very close by, but you can always go out. The most enjoyable stay we have had anywhere in NZ or Australia. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at City Cottages, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Hi - Thanks for your review and the great comments. The drumming on Sunday afternoon was the monthly rehearsal of Batucada, Wellington's very own Brazilian Samba group. Guests are welcome to go to the Thistle Hall on Cuba Street and watch or join in - no charge! Google Batucada Wellington for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

This cottage was a fabulous find, at the top of Cuba Street so within easy walking distance of virtually everything. We stayed here at the end of our 2 week road trip around the south island and was by far the nicest (and certainly not the most expensive) place we had stayed in. One drawback was the noise late at night- a few drunks yahoo-ing, and traffic noise. But, this is the centre of a busy city- if you want peace and quiet go stay in the country. Jeff was very pleasant and efficient to deal with. The cottage was equipped with everything we could have needed- breakfast bits and peices, cookies, tea, coffee. Spotlessly clean. The free Wi Fi was of a very pleasant surprise. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

A few issues:
1) There is a noise issue here - I can hardly believe it is hardly mentioned. To be fair a number of Wellington hotels also have this as well.
2) One night was quite cold, and the wall heater just coped, goodness knows what it will be like in winter.
3) Need to provide more towels, 3 of us had one towel each for the 2 night stay.
4) Cloth to wipe down bench and tea towel would be useful.
5) TV that you can view from the bed!

Addressing some of these would improve the quality of the stay.

Room Tip: Number 5 has a more private layout if you are are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at City Cottages, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Thank you for your suggestions. The double glazing, which will help with noise and the Wellington winter, will be going back up this weekend. We have also provided a fan heater for those chilly autumn nights as well as the electric blanket. There should have been a te towel and cloth in the kitchen cupboard and spare towels in the bedroom drawers - I will speak to house keeping ... er, Dean ... about this! Many thanks, Jeff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Cottages

Address: 5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two heritage cottages built in 1880 and fully renovated 2010. Each cottage sleeps up two 4 guests (total 8) and comes with a carpark and wireless internet. Located in vibrant Cuba Quarter, within a few minutes walk of most Wellington attractions. Combine with nearby City Townhouse and City Bed and Breakfast to sleep a total of 18 people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your City Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.