We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ortega Fish Shack

Ortega Fish Shack
16 Majorbanks Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 631 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh NZ Seafood
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Firstly - a popular restaurant that allows you to make a reservation! That is a rarity these days!
We were not disappointed.
From the tempting menu to the helpful staff, this place is a winner.
All the food is beautifully cooked and wonderfully fresh.
The hardest thing is deciding what to eat, there are so many great choices.
The food is fresh and cooked to perfection. the portions are a perfect size so you don't feel overfull if you make it to dessert - which I would recommend. Though generally I don't have a sweet tooth to satisfy, it was hard to go past the Catalan crepes with orange caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream. Quite simply delicious!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    64
    28
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Small restaurant with Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had looked at Trip Advisor to determine where we should have dinner in Wellington. I kept coming back to Ortega Fish Shack. I decided to call and see if we could get reservations for three (it was a saturday night). They told us they were totally booked but we could come and see if we could get a space at the bar. I am so glad that we did.

We had three different types of fish and they were all excellent. We had olives and fresh bread with the fish. YUM!

One of the best meals we had during our visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ornex, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Only one word for it...yum! Food great, atmosphere fantastic and prices good. I would recommend the restaurant to all living in an visiting Wellington.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would be a regular if lived in NZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous little restaurant with great service, food, ambiance and drink selections. Everything we ate was amazing. The salmon and pumpkin gnocchi were Devine and the dessert of crepe with orange Carmel sauce and vanilla ice cream was superb. Definitely a must if in Wellington.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Absolutely wonderful food, warm atmosphere and very informed staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Will definitely be going back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega Fish Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ortega Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortega Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.