We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ortega Fish Shack

Ortega Fish Shack
16 Majorbanks Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 630 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh NZ Seafood
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic night, the food was excellent as was the service.
A very busy, enjoyable restaurant with a very positive vibe.
Great seafood, highly recommend.
The prawns as an entree were awesome, and the creapes as desert were a huge hit!
Service was exceptional, attentive, friendly and very knowledgable without being in your face too much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    64
    28
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Martha, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant, ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I loved the atmosphere of the Ortega Fish Shack - a smallish, intimate space, buzzing with warmth and character. The walls are covered with all manner of fish/water/Spain related pictures/photos, prints, paintings (including the painting on the stairs depicting the original Ortega fish shack). The floor is a delightful mosaic of earthenware tiles, the deco style bar is gorgeous. The toilets (both!) are worth a visit to check out the fabulous fifties style wallpaper and related decor... The staff are stylish (great aprons), knowledgeable and friendly (there's not an ounce of pretension in Wellington we noticed). And I haven't even started with the food! All I can say is sublime... I still dream about the lobster bisque!

This instantly became my favourite restaurant in the whole wide world and I cannot recommend it enough. Try it for yourself...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Reservations Needed to ensure a table. We loved our dinner experience here. We happened to go on Valentines Day and the menu was a fixed menu. We didnt have reservations but the kindness of the staff let us eat at the bar!! We were soo excited to experience this wonderful restaurant and the staff. I had a fantastic Blue Cod and my husband had a delicious Salmon. This was a prefix four course meal . We had the ahi tuna and the scallops for the 1st course and the Salmon and Blue Cod as the Main course prawn salad for the third and the dessert! FANTASTIC! Highly reccommend this restaurant for a wonderful dinner. We will be back to enjoy another meal here again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Top of their game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I hate to play favourites - there's a lot of restaurants to get through in Wellington. But Ortegas never lets us down and when we've got something to celebrate, it's hard to go anywhere else. Welcoming, fun, friendly and the food is exceptional. Do book ahead - Ortegas have been cooking consistently well for a few years now and we saw a few folks miss out as the restaurant was humming. It's always worth getting Davey to pick the wine matches for you - he always uncovers a treasure or two.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, pity about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Turning up on a Saturday evening, we were met with a good welcome and space at the bar. The starters and main arrived very promptly and were excellent. The mass of customers then dragged service down and after a 30 minute wait and request for the dessert menu and then 20 minutes with no one coming to take the order, we gave up an paid the bill and left. Nevertheless book and don't be in a hurry, it's worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega Fish Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ortega Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortega Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.