We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Carlton Gore Road | Roseneath, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 51 Wellington B&B and Inns
Ryde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“City views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A bright, clean room with a small but adequate ensuite and sunny little patio leading off some patio doors. Plenty of tea and coffee supplied in the room as well as a much appreciated bottle of wine with two wine glasses. A comfortable bed and the quiet location ensured a good night's sleep. The room would have benefitted from a little more surface space but this is not a major criticism.There is a large guest lounge and this has the stronger Wifi signal.
Breakfast was continental style, taken in a lovely dining room with views of the city across the Bay. I believe eggs were available if requested. Janice, the owner, sat and chatted with the guests which was nice. We also enjoyed meeting her husband and appreciated the advice he gave us for driving out of the city.
We were able to enjoy the scenic half hour walk along the Bay to the city centre and were equally pleased to catch the local bus back one evening after a day of sight seeing. Janice was very helpful when we asked to leave our luggage there until the end of the day we left. We would gladly recommend this B & B as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Large, beautiful house overlooking the bay with three guest rooms.
Unfortunately we were in the smallest and it was quite small, lacking storage space (we were there four nights). It lacked an ensuite but had a private bathroom, though this necessitated creeping across a 'public' corridor throughout our stay. Also no coffee making facilities in this room.....had to go into shared sitting room.
Bed comfortable and clean, but again on the small side.
Free WiFi with good signal.
Breakfast okay with cooked options.
Biggest problem for us was the location. Although on one of the best streets in Wellington, it's also one of the steepest and it's quite a trek to ground level, then on to town. There are no restaurants within 20 mins walk; town centre is at least 30 mins away so, although there are occasional buses, taxis are really the only answer. Parking is restricted and hard to find until after 6pm, although we did find a car park next to Te Papa that gives 12 hr parking for $9, so less than a taxi fare.
Hostess Janice very helpfully gave us lift into town a couple of times..... Thank You.....and was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The property is very well presented, convenient for the city, offers free street parking and some rooms have views over the harbour but it is up a steep hill. Our hostess was pleasant but seemed to lack the warmth of all our other NZ hosts.

Our room and facilities were OK with a small ensuite with a partial view of the harbour, but no wardrobe and the towels could be better.

If we returned to the area, we would include this B&B on our list of potentials.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with this B&B which Audley Travel had booked for us in one of the smartest suburbs of Wellington. It was very conveniently located with a very regular bus service to the City centre. The house was elegant, & stylishly decorated and furnished. We found our hostess, Janice very pleasant & helpful - she even gave us a lift to the City Centre one morning. Our room was lovely with a nice view over the sea, but as cited before, there is no wardrobe in which to hang clothes - this factor + the extremely high standards we experienced elsewhere in NZ, providing a benchmark, was why we could not quite rate Carlton Gore 5 star, but we do thoroughly recommend it, & it certainly represents very good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Never found out the name of our hostess and Carlton Gore was off the pace as far as the other B&B's in our Audley Travel organised holiday. Good B&B however, but needs to address a number of issues.

We were in the smallest of 3 rooms and the en suite was little more than a cupboard with no space other than a hatstand for hanging clothes. Room otherwise comfortable with a nice view over Wellington Harbour. Information in the rooms about services offered (or not) was completely missing and only a series of brochures were left on a table. Hostess helpful with any request we made e.g. Telephone calls, taxi.

Should have been told about the regular bus services that went past the door to provide the option of a 30 minute walk to restaurants. Restaurants in immediate vicinity are limited e.g. fisher mans Rest, Vista, White House (pricy?) though stars await after a further 15 min stroll to Marjoribanks Street/Kent Terrace e.g. Ortega Fish Shack, Capital.

Good breakfast served in a lovely room and our nameless hostess warmed to the chat, especially when we were on our own for the second night. Not as engaging as other owners, which is a comment, not a criticism. We recognised we were probably spoiled elsewhere. Not an issue if better information had been provided.

Lovely residence with the potential to be really good, but a number of basics need to be addressed.

The walk up the hill is great for getting rid of any dining excess and fascinating to see houses almost built on top of each other.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the smallest, especially if travelling with large cases. No probably if tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After a very hurried welcome by the host who did not even introduce herself we received a quick recommendation for restaurants and a map. We found our room to be nice and clean, however our bathroom was across the hall which we found quite inconvenient. We were somewhat disturbed by the fact that previously used flasks were provided with shampoo and soap - and certainly did not use these items.
The next morning our host had completely changed, was very polite and served a wonderful breakfast and had time to chat.
Location is good but reaching downtown requires 20 to 30 minutes walking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Carlton Gore as part of our honeymoon in New Zealand. The bed and breakfast is comfortable and ideally located off the bay in central Wellington. The hosts are lovely and the breakfast is delicious, with freshly cooked eggs offerred. We were given lovely recommendations of what to do in Wellington and we enjoyed the limited time we had there. Definitely a safe bet if you are looking for a place to stay in Wellington that is not a hotel...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Carlton Gore Road | Roseneath, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Gore offers a real slice of heaven to any traveller wanting stylish, friendly accommodation close to Wellington City.Our luxury character 1900’s home feels a bit like a boutique hotel with its grand floor plan, high ceilings and separate lounge and dining rooms to relax in. Guests can choose from anyone of our four charming rooms, all decorated in a modern luxury style, offering central heating, sky TV, DVD and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.