We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Carlton Gore Road | Roseneath, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 51 Wellington B&B and Inns
Bonn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A stay in this old Victorian building is something very special. The rooms are decorated with a lot of love, very clean and cosy. The host is very friendly, gives you good tips for restaurants and offers a rich breakfast. The house is located very close to the city center and you have a view over the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in the Carlton Gore B&B for two nights. Although the B&B is well presented and Janice is a great hostess, the layout was not quite right for us as a family. We stayed in the Akaroa and Blue rooms which were on opposite sides of a corridor and shared a bathroom further along. When we were there on our own this was fine, but if other guests were in the other two rooms, I would have felt uncomfortable and would have asked my daughters to lock themselves in - which would obviously not be suitable for younger children. There was a tv room with tea and coffee and a contintal breakfast was provided. The B&B is in a good location for Oriental Bay and there is a bus service to get you up and down the hill.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B. We flew in and took a taxi from the airport which was simple and cost effective. The location is wonderful, being up on a steep hill overlooking the bay and surrounded by historic timber homes. The Carlton Gore is a beautifully presented, very large property with attention to detail in every nook and cranny. It is full of character and space. Our bathroom was huge! The quality is excellent.

We chose this location because Janice kindly reconfirmed that it is an easy walk along the harbour into town. This we discovered was true and a very enjoyable way to see Wellington.

Janice was so helpful and hospitable without being intrusive and we really felt very well looked after. The breakfasts were divine on the top floor with the balcony overlooking the harbour.

We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of a three week trip through New Zealand. Perched up on a hill our room overlooked the city though we were at the far end. While we had a car parking in Wellington was inconvenient and expensive we opted to leave our car at the hotel and walk. While the bus system did run right outside the B and Bs door we found walking into town along the beach beautiful and worth the effort. Though the hike back up the hill was not something I was fond of. Enough so that the second day after retuning from Weta Caves we left the car in one of the few free parking spaces at the bottom of the hill so we would not have to walk back up. We were a short dive to the top of the Victoria viewpoint from our accommodation as well, but about a 15 minute walk into the main part of town. The breakfast and service were ample and friendly and if needed they had laundry facilities in the garage. The garage entry was convenient on the bottom floor and allowed us to come and go as we pleased. We had the ensuite room and while the bathroom was small it was efficient. We enjoyed our stay here and would return again

Room Tip: our ensuite room had the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at Carlson Gore for 3 nights in the French room. We were very impressed with the beautiful new vintage home and the high quality of the finishing. Janice was very welcoming and helpful in suggestions for restaurants, sight seeing, and she even invited us to join her at her tennis club when I expressed an interest. It was wonderful to be introduced to them by Janice and to be welcomed so warmly. We reay feel that Janice went above & beyond the call by so graciously including us, and are very appreciative.
Carlson Gore is a beautiful upscale B&B in a quiet but central location with a breakfast room view of the Harbour to die for. The breakfasts were delicious including cereals, granola, yogurt, fruit, juice, and a variety of cooked items if desired. House keeping was impeccable and the French room with it's beautiful rooftop deck was very European and comfortable. We would highly recommend Carlson Gore, if you play tennis or not.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We spent three nights at the Carlton Gord B & B. Our host Janice Davies was very welcoming and upgraded us to a larger room without additional cost. The B & B is located on a hill in a quiet neighborhood above the harbor. We walked into town every day; a pleasant walk along the harbor. It took us about 25 minutes to get to Te Papa Museum and other down town locations. There is a refrigerator in the garage where we could store a few things for snacks. The common sitting area has a wonderful view of the harbor and it was a great place for relaxing, reading or journaling after a day's outing.
There were two restaurants we especially enjoyed: Scopa, at the end of Cuba Mall, that was Italian; great gnocchi with peas, proscuitto and spinach, and the Olive Cafe, also on Cuba Mall. This is a small casual cafe whose customer are primarily students from the nearby university. It was warm enough to eat in the courtyard area. The food and service were both excellent and prices were reasonable. Our Wellington experience was great, certainly enhanced by the gracious care of Janice at the Carlton Gore B &B. We would stay there again, if we are fortunate enough to return to NZ.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night prior to taking the ferry to the South Island. Janice is a welcoming host. The guest rooms are on a separate level to the rest of the house with their own communal areas and coffee and tea were always available there. Our room was not particularly large but quite adequate with room for our suitcases, and overlooked the garden and sea. Breakfast is serv ed in the host's dining room upstairs which has fantastic views over the sea. Continental and cooked breakfast is on offer. The house is beautifully furnished and we were very comfortable.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Carlton Gore Road | Roseneath, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Gore offers a real slice of heaven to any traveller wanting stylish, friendly accommodation close to Wellington City.Our luxury character 1900’s home feels a bit like a boutique hotel with its grand floor plan, high ceilings and separate lounge and dining rooms to relax in. Guests can choose from anyone of our four charming rooms, all decorated in a modern luxury style, offering central heating, sky TV, DVD and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Gore Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.