We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scorch-O-Rama

Scorch-O-Rama
497A Karaka Bay Road, Wellington, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Café, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great cafe great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We ate here as a family and had a lunch and breakfast.
The lunch menu was lovely and one of us had the special breakfast ....
we each had a lovely New Zealand beer as well.
The service was very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Super, relaxed, simple fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Simple good food never goes out of style. Besides the heavenly location, right by the sea the honest food and good coffee makes you want to leave. The atmosfere is kind of a holiday, chill; for everyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun, friendly, busy. Perfect on a sunny day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I regularly visit Scorchorama, sometimes for lunch and sometimes just for coffee. I bring small groups here and they are usually very impressed with the food and service. Sometimes things can get a little slow when it's busy, but if you are happy to wait with the coffee, the atmosphere and views are worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

we love this place, food is great, coffee excellent, the views are to die for, you won't find better in Wellington on a beautiful sunny day. There is a good range of vegetarian options too.
Even on a rainy day the staff will make you feel better with their chat and attention. Not many place supply, sun hats, sun glasses and sun lotion, that is looking after the customer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice view, silly name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Myself and my family came here for a late lunch on a Sunday afternoon. It was fairly busy but enough staff to cover the customers. Food was good, we had the scrambled eggs, chicken sandwich and fish n chips, good but not great. Waitresses we found weren't attentive enough, we saw 2 waitresses polishing cutlery when there were tables to be waited on, surely one can do it on their own. All in all good lunch but better places to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scorch-O-Rama also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Scorch-O-Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scorch-O-Rama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.