We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel to your Saves list
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Tory St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in two two bedroom apartments and found them vey clean and well presented. The staff were very efficient and only too happy to assist. Our apartments overlooked Tory Street and this proved a disadvantage in the early hours of Sunday morning when local night spots closed. We were subjected to loud, boozed-up, vulgar language from the street below. It is a shame as this totally detracted from our enjoyment of the facility and it is my belief that the relevant authorites need to be aware of such behaviour, as it reflects very badly on Wellington as a lovely, friendly city.
Certainly enjoy the facilities of Distinction Wellington, but try to avoid units that overlook Tory Street on weekends.

Room Tip: Don't overlook Tory Street on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    67
    41
    19
    6
See reviews for
20
81
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Situated one minute's walk from the Wellington night life. The only thing I did not like about our room was that the dining table was pushed so close to the front door. Other than that, perfect! Very modern and stylish. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, this place has one of the most confusing paths from the parking to the room. The parking lot is independently owned and doesn't seem connected to the main hotel at all - which made getting from the car to the room confusing and a bit inconvenient.

The building and rooms its/themselves are well maintained, clean and secure. There is a reasonable kitchen too.

However... The mattress is way to thin. The room we got looks directly into the multistorey carpark nextdoor (no privacy and noisy!).

All in all this place was a roof over our heads for a night. It was in a great location and relatively cheap too. However, I doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This appartment hotel is situated in a great location if you need to be "in Wellington city". We booked a Superior One bed Suite and stayed for 2 nights.

Photos of room on hotel web site were pretty acurate, had a great couch, sep bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, PLENTY of space in the living area, clean modern bathroom with shower over bath (water pressure was excellent), washing machine and dryer in bathroom and a VERY comfy bed (so comfy I took the sheets off to see what brand it was!! Wellington beds). Room was serviced well and no dramas with the staff.

Knowing the hotel was in the middle of the city we chose to book a room with a balcony and we knew the view was going to be of other buildings and the streets etc so we werent to phased with the lack of a "picturesque" vista, we simply like being able to open the door or window of the appartment.

What they could do better - need to have another TV in the bedroom!! The balcony partitian between our room and the next was a bit weird - we could have walked around it to the neighbours and vice versa so we didnt spend as much time out there as we would of liked.
Our room didnt have a compendium, not sure if that was because they dont have them there??? So not sure if we utilised everything this hotel had to offer, of course if we had stayed longer we would of asked for one.

Just a note to parents of young ones..maybe not the best "furniture" in this hotel for lil ones, glass table, coffee table, white carpet and the balcony partitian in our room would have been easily escapable to the neighbours (who knows they may change out the furniture for child friendly stuff on request?)

all in all we were pretty happy with our stay at the Distinction and would stay again good value for central appartment.

Room Tip: parents of young ones..maybe not the best "furniture" in this hotel for lil ones, glass ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Maunganui New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. The room was nicely appointed and very roomy as was the bathroom. It was very clean and tidy and was serviced daily to the same standard. It was great to have the kitchen facilities avalable. The bed was very comfortable. This hotel is in a good area so it is easy to walk to cafes, restaurants, bars and theatres, as well as the waterfront. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: You can request different bedding configurations by ringing the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stay in this type of accommodation all over NZ and Australia and this place is great. Rooms are modern and clean with enough space for me to relax or work if need be. Close to restuarants and cafes. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Studios are okay for one person. Book a 1 bedroom unit if you are with another person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at Distinction. We booked a 1 bedroom superior room. Well it was small and badly designed. We were told it had a balcony. This was a metre wide unsafe floor pad, with a wobbly half metre high glass protection from falling 7 floors. From our room we looked directly into a concrete block wall, no view at all. At night the wind whistled outside between the two buildings which kept us awake. Bedroom pokie and small with no drawers to put clothes in. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you ask if you have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Address: 70 Tory St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Wellington
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.