We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining for Two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Logan-Brown

Logan-Brown
192 Cuba St, Wellington 6155, New Zealand
00644801 5114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 697 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $25 - $150
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Awarded TWO HATS Good Food Awards 2013, 2014, Supreme Winner Restaurant of the Year NZ 2009. Nearly 20 years after Steve Logan founded the restaurant, Logan Brown is still showing newcomers how to do fine dining. The neo-classical interior remains as plush as ever, drawing diners who wouldn't normally brave the upper reaches of hipster Cuba St, while competent, confident service encourages adventurous choices from the Bible-length wine list. The kitchen, headed by Shaun Clouston, continues to turn out innovative, but not gimmicky, food. There's a strong emphasis on local and seasonal flavours, with a nod to the huntin', shootin' and fishin' enjoyed by the restaurant's founders. The Rangitikei lamb rack, for example, comes with a full-bodied rabbit bolognese; the succulent line-caught snapper with tuatua fritters. Classic Kiwi flavours are embraced and showcased with a sense of humour - don't miss the hokey pokey ice-cream sandwich. In brief: style, service and food you can bank on Said international guest judge, Ralph-Kyte Powell, "If I had to select an international flagship for New Zealand cuisine. Logan Brown would be hard to go past"
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fine Dining for Two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have only been twice but if you want a fine dining experience then Logan Brown is the place. It is expensive (just over $200) for the two of us, entree, mains, dessert, wine and coffee but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    112
    49
    25
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“over rated, continues to disappoint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Took my daughter and family for a special Birthday. It wasn't. Cruising on its laurels it isnt a patch on the White House. This is my third attempt to enjoy this supposed icon. I wont be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Have been two or three times. The last time was a celebration for our daughter the menu selection was poor and over priced.

Service was slow and the atmosphere noisey. We were left singularly unimpressed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My 50th, but never ask a lady her age. A grand yet intimate dining affair. Professional, discreet, non-intrusive, efficient, polite, respectful, and that's just the staff. As for the food.....this has to be the best restaurant down-under, with the best food down-under. Fresh, clean, flavoursome, and beautifully presented masterpieces one can get on a plate. Several dining companions from our group of 10 described the food as 'sex on a plate', 'orgasmic' even, but for me, this is the place you want to be for simple but elegant and wholesome fare. LBs only uses the freshest ingredients, sources local and regional produce, always in season, complimented by the best of international culinary skill. My family and I....we love this place....we believe you will too, so give yourself the best because you deserve it, make your next dinner date an LBs experience, you won't regret it I promise.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

You can guarantee a memorable meal and a special night at Logan Brown. Wonderful food and faultless service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Logan-Brown also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Logan-Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logan-Brown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.