We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Wellington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great India

Great India
141 Manners St., Wellington 8001, New Zealand
04 384-5755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 695 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Hanmer Springs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night in Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The food and service were second to none. I would highly recommend this place. You are spoilt for choice in Wellington for great places to eat but this would have to be one of the best Indian restaurants I have ever eaten in.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    71
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is one of the best Indian restaurants I've ever been to, and probably the best in New Zealand. The service is exceptional and the food is amazing and not too expensive. They have a great lunch-menu with dishes for 12 dollars including rice and naan-bread. Been here before for dinner and they have over 60 dishes to choose from. If you're in Wellington you HAVE to go to Great India!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stopped in for a takeaway meal at Great India on a Sunday evening while visiting the city. We were amazed at the courteous and respectful service we received, certainly above and beyond that received when ordering take out! The food was prepared quickly and after settling the bill we requested some cutlery to take back with us to our hotel. We were given disposable plates, utensils and additional extras we did not expect to receive. All done with a polite service and very reasonable cost.

We had a medium butter chicken and a mild chicken korma and both were divine! Arguably the best butter chicken I have eaten yet! We will return when next in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great tasty Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Being Brits and used to eating Indian food we were not quite sure how good the food would be.
No need to worry we had a lovely meal.
Our choices of chicken karai with naan bread ($27) and rogan josh with rice ($22) did not disappoint. Food was delicious, portions good and the service excellent.
This is a great place to eat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Curry House I have been to in the Southern Hemisphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Let's start this review with some context - I am British and travel the world continually which includes visiting both Northern and Southern India over twenty times so I am more than a little particular when it comes to our adopted national cuisine (which let's face it for with a few exceptions isn't much to write home about!)
The chef was from Leicester (I asked prior to dining and as most ex pats will know along with Birmingham and Bradford has some of the best curry venues on the planet)

I had my standard tryout menu lamb vindaloo, keema naan, pilau rice and a pint of Kingfisher. All without exception (apart from the beer!) were perfectly cooked, presented and spiced. The manager informed me that they still used his parents recipes from the 1980's before curry became artisan and confused.
One word of warning they spice to original authenticity so if you are used to Aussie/NZ levels of heat then ask them to tone it down a bit. So to all expats and locals alike if you are missing your weekly curry fix then give them a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great India also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Great India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.