We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing special .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great India

Great India
141 Manners St., Wellington 8001, New Zealand
04 384-5755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
new zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I suppose after reading all the reviews we were expecting a lot. The place was certainly busy. Service was fine, though no one offered to hang our coats and we were served by several different waiters. The tables are very close together with little space for people passing.
The food was pleasant but not outstanding . The onion bhaji and pakora were a little cool and slightly greasy as if they were not just made. The curries were flavoursome but the lamb was a bit gristly and there was a stray bit of bone in it. The nan bread was excellent. I have had just as good curries elsewhere in NZ so don't quite understand all he rave reviews.





P

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    62
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Always come here when in Wellington, have just been again recently. The $12 lunch is extremely good value. Being in a large.group we were able to sample all the different rice and bread selections which was great. Meal was divine quick turnaround friendly and attentive staff. Only thing is that sometimes you can be so close to another table you feel like you might AA well be eating with them! Overall a fantastic dining experience delicious food and very very cheap for what you get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best curry in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Being from Birmingham in the UK I have eaten many a curry in my time. When arriving in Wellington my wife and I decided to splash out on a nicer looking curry house for a special occasion. In hindsight I would have expected to pay a lot more for the quality of food and service we received. I could go on about the attentive service, quick turn around of food and drinks and quality of the flavours and ingredient but instead I'll just assure you if you like a curry this place will not disappoint.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant service & amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went there tonight and had to write a review, best Indian meal we have had probably ever. Staff are fantastic, 5 star service for a very reasonable price. Had chicken jalfrezi and the pork Goan, both perfectly spiced. Just yum. Totally recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Indian food outside Malaysia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Took three family members out for dinners on a Monday , all lovers of Indian food. Chose the restaurant randomly from walking past. The service from the start was excellent. They checked if we had any time constraints and hung our coats for us. They explained the menu well and the cold beers were quickly on the table. We had the Tandoori grill set, jalfrezi, butter chicken(spiced as we requested) Goan pork, small rice and garlic naan. I usually skip entree as we always order way too much food. We had the tandoori set to start and is was a good harbinger for what followed. The food was excellent. The service great including helping us into our coats and opening the door or us on leaving. They have 4 new converts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great India also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Great India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.