We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for and that's no bad thing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vivant!

Vivant!
153 featherston Street, Wellington, New Zealand
+64 4 4961880
Improve this listing
Ranked #291 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $17 - $21
Cuisines: French, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for and that's no bad thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Vivant! (in the Hotel Ibis) is a good spot for a cheap, quick, casual inner-city lunch. Wondering how you could do a main-size Caesar salad for $15, there was only one way to find out. When it arrived it was as expected - not a 'real' Caesar at all but none-the-less a generous bowl of fresh salad with a couple of types of lettuce, bacon bits, dressing, crisp toasted bread squares, a large handful of grated cheese and supermarket anchovies. No, not a Caesar but a very decent $15 lunch. The steak sandwich across the table was in the same vein - competently made, generously portioned and well-priced. Service was fast, efficient and friendly and the wine list reflected the food: not much choice and little of real interest, but a few good choices at very realistic prices. Vivant! does what it does very well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother eating dinner here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Over-cooked salmon, WAY-undercooked noodles & stingy portions for dessert.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“lBreakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

oved the waffles at breakfast. Waiting staff very helpful. Food tasty and well presented.reallistic price.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis (just above Vivant) and we LOVED the restaurant! .. As a result, we ate at that restaurant about 5 times throughout our stay!

Food is VERY good and tasty! The only issue it seems is the menu... When you first read the menu, it seems like you don't have a lot of choice, and the food doesn't seem that special when you read about it. But if you take a chance, you will be plesantly surprised! We think they just need to update their menu a little bit.

The two Asian waiters (sorry for the racial reference but there was no other way of identifying the guys as neither of us can remember their names), were both fantastic! Friendly, polite, and very knowledgeable of correct restaurant table maners..

Vivant made our stay in Wellington!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great menu, great food, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Vivant is the in-house restaurant for the Ibis Hotel in Featherston Street Wellington. We dined there when staying at the hotel recently. The menu was enticing and reasonably priced, our waitress was awesome, and the food was very good. We would definately eat here again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivant! also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Vivant!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivant!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.