We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor excuse for a caravan park” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Gateway Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Gateway Motor Inn to your Saves list
Capital Gateway Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Newlands Road, Newlands | Newlands, Wellington 6037, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Wellington
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Poor excuse for a caravan park”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in our 6th berth camper here for our stop over in Wellington on the 2nd March. Basically this is a motel with a "campervan site" in the car park. Very tight spaces on the concrete. Very small facilities for number of vans/people. Only 1 toilet & 2 showers in each male/female block. Very small kitchen and dining area. Facilities were not that clean and old. Staff were friendly enough but not that helpful. 7km from the city and approxomately 20 minutes into town on the bus but this costs $5 one way pp. All 4 of my party were not happy with this camp site and wish we had checked it out first. Especially as it was expensive $76 for 4 people for what you got. I would recommend staying in one of the other sites further out of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EbronDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have now stayed here several times on visits to NZ as it is so convenient for the ferry terminal. This time we actually had a meal in the restaurant and were not disappointed. The dining room is very pleasant and the food and service very good and reasonably priced. The rooms are clean and spacious and have everything needed for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshmike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Positives: Conveniently close to motorway and easy to get into Wellington. Not too noisy. Owners are very helpful and the Christmas dinner was exceptional. Comfortable beds and linen, cosy bar area. Friendly atmosphere.

Negatives: in a gap in mountains and so no views of city. Feels isolated. Worn out cement paths outside rooms with bird droppings and flaky paint. 4 stars in the guide books is hard to understand. Old analogue tv, no air con, hot rooms if over 25 degrees. Over priced by 30% compared to other Nz accommodation on our trip.

I hope it can pull itself up to a better standard of facility to justify the prices asked. Would stay again only if it was cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dab631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed overnight with motorhome before early morning ferry. Yes its a car park but suited our need. Spaces are wide enough for the biggest motorhome with additional hatched off area of 1m between every two spaces. Long vehicles may have some difficulty with turning spaces, depending on which site you are allocated. Facilities were more than adequate for users when it was more than half full. Toilets, showers and kitchen available, and were clean and fully working. Power is available to all sites. The dump station is located by the facilities block, and could be difficult to use if water in/out are on different sides of vehicle, due to restriction on turning space. The motor inn is easy to find and is directly off the motorway. The route to the ferries is well signed, and took us five minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the night in a motorhome as we were getting the ferry the following day and we wanted to be close to Wellington. Very disappointed with the camping area. Pretty much a motorway service station aesthetic - white lines painted on the Tarmac with 1m gaps between them. A few grass strips or even the odd plant in a tub would have cheered it up no end.
The toilet facilities were inadequate for the number of sites - one toilet, one shower and one disabled toilet/shower for each of the sexes. Toilet block had clearly been built by someone who has never been camping in their lives as every detail was badly thought through. To get hot water in the shower you have to press a button out in the hallway (ie outside the men's/ladies doors) for a timed dose of hot water. Quite how this helps anyone I'm not sure - is just inconvenient. Complete lack of hooks or dry areas in the shower, not especially clean and no space around the sink area for hanging towels/wash bags.
Site is conveniently located for a bus ($6.50 return) into the city centre and we were provided with a timetable on check-in. However as pointed out by another reviewer, would probably be better to stay at the Wellington waterfront site, which is just as grim and unattractive, but is actually in the heart of the city centre.
Overall this is clearly a motel who have extra space in the car park and have decided to charge campers $46 to park there. However, the camping side gets very little thought and attention compared to the motel business. Provided some of the above feedback on check out, was met with a rather bland "I'll tell the manager" response.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We choose this Motel as it is ideal for the ferry to Picton. But there where it stops. It is old, run down and stuck in the 80's. Time to wake up guys and do some refurbishing. Thi kitchen and bathroom facilities are very poor and well used. The decor , TV beds need urgent replacement. It was the most expencive hotel on a two week holiday and the poorest one. The internet connection was a real ripp off! It is only available in the lobby and you get charged a fortune for ten minutes.It was very noisy right next to the motorway and no sound proofing. Once again if you don't have to get the ferry next morning there is no reason to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights, we arrived late on a rainy, windy night (typical Wgtn weather I heard), The heater was left on so when we got to our room it was nice & warm (perfect) and the electric blanket was also on, the room was well equipped for what we paid for, the room service ladies we're always smiling and happy, and the front end staff were always polite & helpful. Would recommend this motel to anyone wanting excellent, polite service:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
3.5 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
4.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#15 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
4.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#22 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#39 of 49 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Wellington
Mercure Wellington
#35 of 49 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newlands Court Motel
Newlands Court Motel
#42 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Gateway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Gateway Motor Inn

Address: 1 Newlands Road, Newlands | Newlands, Wellington 6037, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Gateway Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Capital Gateway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing