We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scopa Caffe Cucina

Scopa Caffe Cucina
141 Cuba Street (corner of Cuba and Ghuznee Streets), Wellington, New Zealand
04 3846020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cute with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice atmosphere with quite good food for good value. Located on Cuba Street so plenty around to see before and after.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    65
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pizza with fresh ingredients, tasty coffee and nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a late lunch and to take a break from walking around. Scopa was perfect, as they offered a relaxing environment and quality food. The pizza was cooked to perfection: thin and crispy with slight chewiness of the crust. The vegetables on top (spinach, onions, peppers) all tasted very fresh too. Coffee was also delicious.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good pizzas, expensive wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

It is well known that wine, bread and coffee are probably the main source of profits for a restaurant ( this being one of the reasons why I like BYO restaurants in Wellington very much).
A good example to illustrate what I have just written. We went yesterday to Scopa where we ate four excellent pizzas, together with very fine marinated olives, very good calamari, two rocket salads and a pint of beer. Everything rated very highly in our opinion. We also had a nice bottle of Chardonnay that costs in the supermarket 18 nz dollars, according to the Michael Cooper's guide.
The bill amounted to 180 nz dollars out of which the wine amounted to 46 nz dollars and the beer to 14 nz dollars. Which means that you can have a beautiful and rather cheap lunch or dinner in Scopa if you drink only water and a rather expensive one if you drink wine. But the main and almost only task of a restaurant is to cook, isn't! (At least in Europe wine is sent to the restaurants by the wine distributors). Anyhow (and sorry for this digression) I consider Scopa as a good and worth repeating restaurant that I would recommend even to my most demanding friends (mainly if they are teetotaler).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosgiel, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Scopa Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Have been to Scopa twice and it has been totally outstanding both times. It has Peroni on tap, Italian and St Marks Square flags on the ceiling feature, plenty of Italian words on the menu, it feels as if it could easily be in Italy, and the food is excellent to boot! The wine selection is really good too, this is an outstanding establishment and highly recommended, right in the heart of Cuba Street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“When less is more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Have been here a couple of times and both of which the pizzas was amazing. Big highlight is the Rosa Maria pizza and we also got a Margarita pizza and added prosciutto. Would also highly recommend their hot chocolate but only a small as its so rich. Their toilets are nice and modern. You can see them making your pizza which is cool. Only negative is they're a bit pricey BUT compared with other pizza places the flavours are incredible! So worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scopa Caffe Cucina also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Scopa Caffe Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scopa Caffe Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.