We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to the Ohtel team!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ohtel to your Saves list
Ohtel
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   66 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thanks to the Ohtel team!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I am a regular at Ohtel. It is a great boutique hotel where nothing is a problem for the staff. I was recently marooned in Wellington as a result of a volcanic ash cloud grounding trans-Tasman air services.
Alan and Heidi were great. Rooms were made available and they shuffled reservations so that I did not need to make a room change during my extended stay. They also did their best to make me feel at home.
Thanks guys for your exceptional service

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    54
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
165
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Modern, funky, and a 5 minute walk from the heart of Wellington. Just across the road from the waterfront area and oriental bay. We had a suite, it was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was enormous. I would have changed the position of the bed, when you open the front door you look straight at the bed, no privacy, yuk. Also there was virtually NO hanging space in the tiny closet. Concierge was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was provided. This could easily become the best place in Wellington.

Room Tip: as for a suite or water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Lovely locations, funky rooms but getting a bit tired and the threads are starting to show.

The staff are less than friendly - not rude exactly but disinterested. Forget about the customer being right if you stay here.

But the killer is the cost - for a "self rated" 5 star hotel that would rate at best 3 stars it's hugely over priced. Add to that the fact that many of the "luxury items" are billed at mini bar prices (including bubble bath for heavens sake) means paying far more than it's worth.


Do yourself a favor - go somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Ohtel is self-rated at 4.5 stars and I think represents good value for money given Wi-fi is included in the tariff. I regret the property and the restaurants you visited during your stay in Wellington didn't meet your high standards.

You aren't the first guest to pass comment about the cost of optional luxury products for use in the baths, so I have decided to remove them from the rooms - now only available for purchase from reception. If you thought they were overpriced, why did you use them...?

Finally, I'm dissappointed by the "forget about the customer being right" comment given we agreed at short notice to reduce your 4 night booking to a single night without penalty.

As usual though, we do value feedback - and will continue to make changes and improvements to the business where we can.

Regards

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new plymouth
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at Ohtel for my 40th birthday and if was wonderful. $365 a night for Suite Room 9 which we highly recommend with lovely deep two person bath to soak in. Stunning views from the balcony. Both the owner Alan and Michelle were very friendly. Both being music enthusiasts we loved the music audio and podcast available...the bed was very comfy and even though right on Oriental Parade was very quiet ! Double glazed windows make a huge difference and the black out curtains. Complimentary Evolu bathroom products. We stay in Wellington often usually at The Bolton but in the future this will be the place for us ! We dined at both Martin Bosleys and Logan Browns both top class and had an absolute ball at Boogie Wonderland and Alice on Courtney Place. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Everything was excellent. I was won over at check-in, then I saw the mid-century furniture, then the music and video collection and finally the divine bed. Heidi could not have been more helpful.

Such a great experience after recent stays in large hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed for one night on a flying visit through Wellington. Wish we had stayed a bit longer as this place was uber-cool! We were hit by the weird NZ rules about purchasing alcohol in a bar over the Easter weekend (you can't, unless you buy whilst eating a meal and even then you have to finish your drinks within half an hour of eating!), so our plan to try a few bars in Wellington were scuppered.
Fortunately we were able to retire to the funky hotel room with an amazingly well-stocked mini bar(Bombay Sapphire, several types of local beers, some great wines in half-bottles, some decent whiskeys etc- we didn't drink ALL of this though!) and recline on the mid-century Danish leather armchairs for the evening. As well as the usual channels, the TV also has a great line up of itunes and movies for free, so we settled in for the evening watching some classics, listening to some tunes and watching the drizzle run down the window outside. A cosy little bolt-hole which didn't feel like a hotel- more like you were staying in a friend's apartment for the night. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This is a great boutique hotel in a great location, without any of the noise. Friendly staff: our flight had been delayed so the Concierge had rung to explain how to get into the hotel on our arrival as they weren't there 24 hours; they were also happy to prepare us a late breakfast when we realised on weekdays the times aren't as late as weekends.
The rooms are funky with lots of designer touches, I got to see two as friends were staying at the same time. There is limited hanging space, and we were staying for 4 nights so were a little disappointed. The bathrooms were spacious, with lovely toiletries, only no where to hang towels. This is a problem for me as I like to re use and do my little bit to save the planet, this stay we had to rely on them being changed every day. And this is why I have marked the hotel down on cleanliness. We were staying in Wellington to attend a wedding, and therefore the day after we chose to leave at lunch time as we were going to a party hosted at the bride's parents' home. Our room wasn't cleaned or serviced, which was a surprise as we had chatted to the hotel staff on leaving so they knew we had gone. On our return at 9pm there was only a remote concierge service available so we tidied up ourselves and did our best to air the towels. When I told the hotel staff the next morning I was advised that the cleaner leaves at 2pm. I was amazed that such a nice (and not cheap) hotel did not have a system to ensure that all rooms were cleaned. I hope this doesn't put anyone off, as I'm sure this will have been addressed by now. We will certainly stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thanks for taking te time to let us know about things you weren't happy with during your stay. It's important we get feedback from guests - keeps us focused on delivering all those little details that make your stay memorable for the right reasons.

Disappointed to hear your room wasn't serviced on one of the days - Heidi, Michelle or I are happy to service rooms of anyone leaving the hotel after our regular cleaning times - I apologise, this should have been taken care of.

We have extra hanging racks available on request.

Glad you enjoyed the stay otherwise and look forward to having you back sometime soon.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Address: 66 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohtel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.