We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Cuisine

Majestic Cuisine
11 Courtenay Place, Wellington, New Zealand
3810 338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 630 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wellington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my favourite Chinese restaurant in Wellington. I have been there many times which is a recommendation it itself. It is best later in the week when there are sufficient patrons that the kitchen just sends out a continuous stream of many different varieties of dim sum with the wait staff and you can select whatever appeals as they come by.

At quieter times you need to know which dishes you like and order from the menu, and this can be a challenge unless you know the dishes.

My only reservation about the Majestic is that the wait staff often deliver food to a neighboring table, but refuse to look round to see if anyone else needs something. You have to be assertive to catch their attention at these times.

Despite that the food is delicious, and modestly priced. A friend I and I have lunch there and sharing six dishes will cost us NZD$16 each.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum Cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice and fresh yum cha, very fast, good price. but you have to book a table for weekends to avoid waiting for tables. maybe they are the best yum cha in wellington at moment

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Yum Char!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After going to The Grand Century for a while and having less than average service, (not bad food but CHECK YOUR BILL before you leave as it can be wrong) we decided to try something else so went & looked for one with good reviews. We arrived on a Sunday at 12.30 and even though we hadn't booked (didn't realise you could, even though we called the day before and asked if they would be open) we were seated quickly. The food arrived quickly and were constantly attended to by friendly staff! (Unlike The Grand Century!) Loved the sticky rice and pork buns. My son had deep fried chicken peices and said they were better than KFC LOL! The only negatives were we were not asked for a drinks order and when we did they brought us the wrong one but were apologetic and quick to correct. Also I noticed an $11.50 "Kitchen" item on the bill and when queried was told it was the pork belly slices - didn't mind paying as it was divine, but thought it would be prudent of them to let us know prior to accepting it as all other items were $4.50 - $6.95 approx. All in all we would definately recommend this to friends and will be going back. Paid $56.95 for three of us including tea and one lemonade. Try it you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Yum-Char Dim Sum in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a place to be if you want to try Chinese yum-char (dim sum) which as a south china cuisine. The food is just right not too greasy or too salty and the taste was good! The restaurant also boost an authentic Chinese decoration with lots of noise on the background (people chatting. .etc..).. Please don't mistaken that the noise will be a disturbance as I found it is almost essential if you want to try it as it is part of the culture that were found back in Asia. The noise only good for the morning/brunch time but not as dinner. So please expect to quieter environment during dinner time. Food presentation and service was top and a very good chef... Recommended to everyone. Please book in advanced if you need a table during weekend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great yum char and Chinese cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My favourite restaurant for yum char. The food tastes fresh and delicious, whereas at other places it tastes greasy and a bit limp. The restaurant is medium sized so there's a good atmosphere. The decor down to the chopsticks exert a cleaner, sophisticated, and modern feel to the restaurant. I come here for dinner as well and there is a good selection of chinese food (beef, chicken, duck, seafood, chicken, etc) cooked in various chinese styles. All very tasty and for the price, is worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Majestic Cuisine also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Majestic Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.