We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good brunch salmon dish and relaxed feeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro

Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro
241 Tinakori Road | Thorndon, Wellington 6012, New Zealand
+64 4-499 8464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Charlie Bill brings you modern New Zealand cuisine with an emphasis on honest, wholesome food in a cosy and intimate dining environment. Award-winning chef Hemi Tahu and partner Leigh Thornett look forward to welcoming you to Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro. Located on Tinakori Road a stone's throw from the city centre.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good brunch salmon dish and relaxed feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went to try Charlie Bills weekend brunch even though live across town - and I will definitely go back. I ordered the smoked salmon Benedict and this was on a nice white sliced loaf bread, with the home made hot smoked salmon (of the hot cooked variety rather than the cold stuff we buy at the shops) and... it is the best hot smoked salmon I have ever tasted. It was tender not dry and tasted so fresh and was not sickening as some salmon can get I find. 2 poached eggs and loads of tasty hollandaise.

My Dad had halloumi and this was nice also on a brown bread. Coffee good - and really nicely small and quiet with the effect of the carpet I think it was - not all loud and therefore great to take your parents to! Felt so relaxed stayed and had another coffee. Good service. And good wine list!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Superb food and excellent service. Our daughter took the whole family to celebrate my wife's birthday. We all went through all the courses, and they all were very tasty, with very nice presentation. Staff are very friendly and obliging. A great night out. Truly 5* dining. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Please go to Charlie Bill's on the corner of Tinakori/Hill st. Fabulous place with fantastic food. Small and intimate, and I can't complement the food enough. By far, my favourite restaurant in Wellington. Brunch on Saturday and Sunday is a fabulous addition!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went with high expectations and these were not met. The food was absolutely fine, but the ambience, environment and service are all those of a second-tier restaurant and contributes to an overall so-so experience, which turns to a depressing experience when you pay the fairly hefty bill before you leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great brunch. Will be back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Dropped in for brunch. Service was cheerful and very quick with coffee. Ordered the bene and staff very happy to adapt the dish for individual preferences. The meal itself was great. Salmon was absolutely beautiful. So was the sourdough. Can't wait to come back for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.