We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halo Lounge and Dining

Halo Lounge and Dining
51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga, New Zealand
+64 7 577 8704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 233 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: $5 - $152
Cuisines: European, Seafood, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy stylish waterfront dining at Halo Lounge & Dining, with panoramic views of the beautiful Tauranga Harbour. Whether you choose to dine indoors or prefer the relaxed ambience of alfresco dining on the wrap-around balcony, either way you will enjoy magnificient views. Come and experience a delicious breakfast (from 7am), meet friends for coffee, savour leisurely brunch or casual lunch, high teas for special celebrations, after work drinks, or refined waterfront candlelit dining in the evening. Halo offers a chic ambience for all occasions, where everyone is always welcome.Halo’s seasonal menus reflect the Bay of Plenty’s abundant supply of superb ingredients, as well as the highest quality New Zealand fresh produce. Local wines feature alongside international wine labels to form a comprehensive selection designed to complement all dining occasions. Halo Lounge & Dining gains its name from the circular, Italian-styled lights that exude a gentle illumination above the restaurant. Come and experience the fabulous food, fantastic views and beautiful surroundings that are Halo. 172 on-site car parks (free of charge), wheel chair accessibility make Halo a convenient option. Alternatively you may elect to arrive by boat at the hotel's pontoon whilst you explore the Halo menus or grab a beverage.For more private events, our five function rooms provide an enviable range of waterfront venues. Contact us to discuss your next gala dinners, cocktail parties, weddings or conferences to arrange a no obligation meeting to review the wide range of options.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food and Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Enjoyed the selection of food and the menu and the wine list looed quite extensive. As we were there in the winter it was too cold to sit outside but could imagine it would be a great environment on a nice warm evening.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Halo Lounge and Dining, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    7
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great fresh tasty food, outstanding service and an amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The food was of a consistently high quality - fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. The service was exceptional and the view was amazing. Make sure you try the salmon fishcakes - they're the best I've ever had.

I ate breakfast here every morning of conference and the breastfed buffet was always appetising. The vatering provided for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea was also excellent.

I can;t wait to bring back friends and family for a meal :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Halo Lounge and Dining, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback, much appreciated. We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remuera
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quite liked breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Other reviewers seem hugely disappointed but we really enjoyed Halo's breakfast buffet and we're normally anti-buffet food-snobs. What a super start to Sunday morning with stunning views, crisp white linen and warm banana bread all housed within a smart classic-modern dining room and cared for by friendly professional staff. Granted the fried components weren't up to winning any Michelin stars but the yoghurt and fruit/nut loaves were delish (and trim milk came as standard). Thanks Halo.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Halo Lounge and Dining, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you, it is a great way to start the day isnt it! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Have You Changed Your Chef?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Something has changed at this restaurant from our last visit. I suspect a new chef, or perhaps the kitchen was having an off night?

I don't think cold a raw fish dish makes for a popular amuse bouche on a winters night! I saw many of these going untouched at other tables.

Every dish was under-seasoned, i thought the days were the chef used no salt in the preparation were long gone? The meals were decidedly bland, even the nice bowl of chips were unsalted!

Excellent service though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Halo Lounge and Dining, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Sorry to hear of your disappointment in your evening dining experience. We have not changed our Chef, however your feedback noted. We do hope to see you again and you have a much better experience. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Halo offers high (over) priced tiny plates of fancy, yet insipid food in a characterless, echo-filled concrete box (they call it "minimalist" - I call it boring). If you want to be bored stiff and spend a heap of money to stay hungry, then Halo might be for you. For my money, there are numerous better restaurants in Tauranga.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Halo Lounge and Dining, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Sorry to hear of your disappointment. We will look into your comments further. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Lounge and Dining also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Halo Lounge and Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halo Lounge and Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.