We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family lunch for all ages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant

Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant
143 Moffat Road, Tauranga 3001, New Zealand
(07) 576 8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 236 Restaurants in Tauranga
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Papamoa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent family lunch for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

What a great lunch we had here. We were a party of 12, the oldest 67 and the youngest 4 year old twins. We would have liked to sit outside but the weather looked a bit dodgy so we were inside. Which was fine.The twins had a great platter each with cheese, crackers, yogurt, salami berries etc. They loved it and made a nice change from the usual fare offered on kids menus. The adult menu was great with something for most tastes. I had the the best Vietnamese Salmon salad. Just superb. The service was impeccable as were the wines and the wait staff well deserving of the hefty tip our host left in appreciation. Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant and the prices are reasonable with the most expensive being the Waygu beef at $28. Good value indeed. Got to be my new fav lunch place now!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillsReefWinery, Public Relations Manager at Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Brilliant review! Thanks so much - we love hearing that!!! The chefs have been hard at work creating that menu you enjoyed and you are right - the price is really reasonable for what you get. Look forward to hosting you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Taste Sensation & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were here for lunch and the resaturant was very busy. We were a table of 12 including 2 pre schoolers. The kids platter was amazing, my kids have never devoured anything so well in a cafe/restaurant before! The waiter was a young guy, but he was fantastic... polite, efficient and not intrusive! The food for the adults was YUM! And so was the bubbles! Perfect lunch... I definately will go there again soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillsReefWinery, Public Relations Manager at Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hi Frances, thanks for taking the time to post a review - we love hearing when people have a great time for lunch or dinner. Look forward to seeing you here again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great setting being able to sit outside under the umbrellas and look out over the garden and grass area. Tables aren't too close together. We had a largish group and was great how the meals came out closely together. Everyone enjoyed there meal and wine. My venison burger was nicely presented and tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillsReefWinery, Public Relations Manager at Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Glad you had a great time Phillip! That venison burger is pretty tasty alright!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“winemakers dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Mills Reef offers some of the best reds in NZ. In particular their Merlot Malbec and Elspeth Syrah. The restaurant is a showcase for their fine wine and oneof the best places to eat in Tauranga

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillsReefWinery, Public Relations Manager at Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks for coming to our winemaker's dinner - we are endeavouring to do them annually to showcase some of our new release reds! Glad you had a great time - speaking of new release reds our new Elspeth Syrah 2011 has just been released. You will have to pop into the tasting room to pick up a bottle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good time to be had in Bethlehem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Passing by on a very cool overcast Sunday morning we had the assistance of a delightful young man at the Cellar Door and we enjoyed our short but pleasant wine-tasting and a walk around. We were there a little early for lunch but given the opportunity, on another trip in either direction (there or back), would be more than happy to stay awhile and again enjoy the lovely surroundings and well kept grounds. A great venue for lunch, dinner, a wedding or celebration of any sort really! Even on an overcast grey day this wee stop was an unexpected ray of sunshine. Thank you to the staff on duty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillsReefWinery, Public Relations Manager at Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us. Glad you had an enjoyable time and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.