We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourside Brasserie & Bar

Harbourside Brasserie & Bar
The Strand, Tauranga 3001, New Zealand
(07) 571 0520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 235 Restaurants in Tauranga
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bay of Plenty
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistantly Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Harbourside consistently has great food and service. Rosie the Maître D is the best in Tauranga. The atmosphere is great with outstanding views across the harbour. The venison is fantastic. The place is so good we eat there 3 or 4 times a month.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    80
    27
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A favourite spot for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We often visit Harbourside for family birthdays etc, traveling from Rotorua. This visit, it felt as though they had really excelled. The food was beautifully presented, and the shared platters were especially well received. The paella was pronounced excellent, with lots of beautiful, fresh seafood. Even as a non-seafood fan, I was impressed by the tender calamari. The dishes are generous, especially the children's meals, which really were too big for a five year old to manage, but given the chips were so good, they didn't go to waste! The staff are friendly and accommodating, the location gorgeous, the parking plentiful, what more is there to say?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Soooo wanted it to be a 5”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

But sad.... it wasn't!! On the whole it really was ok but simple things just seem to be missing for example the plate my 26 dollar scallop entrée came out on was both cool and chipped. My Lady had the steak (porterhouse) was cooked as she had asked but was tough as a boot. Son had the Goat curry and was really nice. Hope they can sort these things out and if we go again it will be a knock out 5. If it had been a little less expensive for the quality we received I would have given a rating of three or average as T/A states but it wasn't.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As it should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived without a booking but were allocated a prime table without fuss.
We liked how the menu was divided into different sized servings. We have found recently that some main courses are so big we cannot eat dessert. It was great to be able to have this choice.
We found the food to be delicious and the service far better than average.
There was a good drinks menu with reasonable prices.
I would recommend them to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Overall great experience..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Duck superb!! Wine excellent.. Wait staff could do with more enthusiasm!! Overall great experience...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourside Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Harbourside Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourside Brasserie & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.