We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Tauranga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Tauranga to your Saves list
Quest Tauranga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Durham Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsview Resort & Towers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Such a wonderful stay in a very comfortable spacious room, highlighted by super helpful staff, notably mentioned Sam the duty manager, ever so helpful, Bonnie who went out of her way to cook us a meal, Kelsey who helped us find further accommodation, and Duncan the helpful manager- all cheerful and all so very helpful! This has been my favourite stay in new zealand so far!

Room Tip: Friendly room service staff also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
27
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked Quest Tauranga as everything at Mt Manganui was booked out. Overall, was a good stay. Stayed for 6 nights.

Highlights:
- Good location, a downhill walk to the restuarants and town centre. Heaps of eating places on the Strand
- Spacious room - more of a studio apartment than a one bedroom, with partions around the bed area
- Microwave and an electric stove
- A cafe at the hotel
- Guy at the reception (Erin) was very nice and accommodated my room change and helped us to settle in
- Bed was comfortable
- Decor was nice

Lowlights
- Short stay rooms are only on level 1 & 2 so there isn't much of a view
- The balcony was a shared one
- Couldn't understand the arrangement of the sofa, it was against the same wall as the tv, but a seat was provided to watch tv
- The compendium said that the rooms were serviced daily except Sundays. in the 6 days I was there, the room was cleaned properly once.
- The cafe has very limited selection and opened at 8am daily (late when u r trying to dash to work)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Quest Tauranga seemed to be a relatively new build as everything was in as new condition. The room we stayed in was a very big studio apartment with full kitchen and dining facilities so the room itself made Quest a very nice place to stay. It is located a block or so from the main part of Tauranga so very central to restaurants and shops. The hotel room seem to be on the lower floors with apartments on the floors above so we didn’t get a great view from the small deck. Overall Quest Tauranga is a nice and modern place to stay and would easily go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we grabbed a grab one deal and booked 2 nights away.on arrival we decided to stay longer but before committing i first wanted to see the room.we were pleasantly surprised after all the poor reviews we have read!!!this is not a 5 star hotel and the price reflects this!!!it is really clean and tidy and well set out.we had no problem staying here at all.it was like a home away from home!!the bathrooms are a little outdated but still very clean and functional.reception was a pleasure to deal with.we got really good advice as to where we could go for a lunch and clear instructions as to how everything in our room worked.the hotel is well situated and we walked to town and only used the car to go to the mount.we will return and we travel often too!!thanks reception staff you are all well mannered and pleasant!!!it would be nice to have a breakfast option included too but plenty of cooffee shops around so not a major.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 6 on the ground floor and it suited us well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at the Quest... it was called Kings View when we were there last.

PARKING PERILS - We got used to the 'white knuckle' parking experience, but still found it frustrating. We have a big car and parked it with caution.

WOULD YOU LIKE MILK WITH THAT..? Unfortunately we didn't check how many cup-lets of milk were in the fridge until we returned from dinner and proceeded to make a cup of tea before bed time. There were only 2 (two) cup-lets of milk. Oblivious of the late hour I dialed the after-hours cell number on the phone in the room and it did not even ring. Just as well I didn't have a real emergency..! Suffice to say that we didn't have a cup of tea prior to leaving the next morning as I was over the 'milk thing' so I had (or tried to have) a glass of water instead. It seems such a waste of power to have a fridge running just to keep 2 little cup-lets of milk cold.

WATER ANYONE..? - the tap water was not fit to drink...the taste of chemicals was awful. A filter would be a fabulous idea. I decided to drink the boiled water in the kettle instead...much nicer.

WASTE BIN - the waste bin under the kitchen sink doesn't come out when the door is opened... so I left it on the floor in hope that the maintenance person might get the hint to fix it.

TAKE A SEAT - there were 2 chairs positioned at the dining table and both were torn and tatty looking and it really pulled down the quality of the room when we saw them (I should have taken photos). I also left those out so the maintenance person would notice them.

MIND THE STEP - like other reviews, we don't think much of the step up to the shower... a bit of a safety hazard.

WE HOPE YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY - We had to vacate the room by the usual time of 10am, so we headed for reception at 9.30 to pay the bill...but there was a sign up saying that reception was not open until 10am. Say what...? We have never come across this in our travels, and we have traveled the world twice. We couldn't pay our bill, so my husband went off to find someone... and the man he found said he wasn't "really" due to open reception until 10am, and that he would just debit our credit card. Charming I thought..! No "thanks for staying at the Quest, and we hope to see you again..." This was the last straw for us, so hence we were not willing to find out what disappointments might arise if we had breakfast in their new bar/restaurant. As we left reception disappointed a staff member from the restaurant did say "We are not part of the Quest" so couldn't help us at reception.

OPPORTUNITY FOR IMPROVEMENT - I had my little list of comments (as above) abridged to give them at reception but we couldn't even do that...so here I am in Trip Advisor instead.

COMMUNAL BALCONY - our room faced Harrington street, and the balcony's are not private as there is no wall between rooms, so don't expect complete privacy. On our last stay we had a room higher up facing the carpark - no party noise that night (thank goodness).

MILLENIUM ROTORUA HERE WE COME..! - we left to stay at the Millenium Hotel in Rotorua where people are at reception ready to say hello AND goodbye; there is plenty of milk in the fridge and an after hours number to get more at any time; the waste bins all work properly; you can drink the tap water; and the chairs are in perfect condition. We just love that place..!

On a positive note, the room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfy, and I love the heavy drapes...really nice. However, we will find somewhere else to stay in Tauranga.

Room Tip: North facing is good if you don't mind the foot traffic passing by if you are on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Quest Tauranga last night and I was totally disappointed with my stay.

I am a regular business traveller and often stay at quest properties, I normally stay at Quest Mt Maunganui with a rate of $125 – however this was full so I assumed that Quest Tauranga would be of a similar quality.

This was probably the worse stay I’ve ever had in my travels. Firstly, I was charged $155 for a 1bdrm which was a room with partitions – hardly a one bedroom.

Then my night only got worse – the car park they gave me was a tight fit and they could clearly see the type of vehicle that I had. The shower didn’t work properly – half the jets were not working and the shower dribbled and leaked from the top when using the head.

The lights in the bathroom and main area were blown and this made the place reasonably dark – not what I have come to expect from a quest property.

The reception staff were rude and unwelcoming and to be honest I will NEVER stay at this property again and will now think twice about staying at another quest property!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Totally disappointing stay. Quest Mt Maunganui (our usual) was full so we decided to stay here. BIG MISTAKE. We paid too much for a 1brm apartment - we got a studio sized room with a partition around the bed - this does NOT make it a 1brm apartment! We had to pay $7 for a secured (tiny) carpark, which we didn't use as our larger sized car was not easy to manoeuvre in/out. The shower didn't work properly and leaked everywhere, the bath plug did not work so no bath option, there were several lights out around the apartment so it was very dark. There was no view on the balcony, the tv was in an awkward location so you couldn't easily watch from the (tiny) sofa. The wifi we paid for kept disconnecting all the time we gave up using it.
If the rate was half what we paid we wouldn't have been as disappointed as we were, and we didn't pay the full rack rate either, so unfortunately we can't recommend here and we won't be back - definitely NOT the standard you'd expect of a Quest apartment.

Room Tip: Stay at the Mount Maunganui Quest - This is NOT to the same standard you would expect of Quest prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest T, Owner at Quest Tauranga, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Unfortunately we cannot change the views from apartments but do apologise for the none functioning of the shower and lights. We have reviewed our systems to ensure these faults do not go unattended to prior to room letting. Our wifi system is a new installation and we will be taking this fault up with the supplier of the service. The partitions in the room may not suit all guests however many have found this system extremely useful when the rooms are used with children stayin or additional people. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Tauranga

Address: 6 Durham Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsview Resort & Towers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Tauranga 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Tauranga Serviced Apartments are located in the heart of Tauranga's exceptional shopping, dining and nightlife. Explore the fantastic boutique stores, cafes, restaurants and bars that line the surrounding streets. Quest Tauranga offers a mix of 29 studio, one, two and three bedroom self-contained serviced apartments with comfortable and modern furnishings and all the great services and amenities Quest is known for. Each apartment features a spacious living area, full kitchen, deluxe spa bath (except our two fully enabled wheel chair accessible apartments), comfortable king size beds, and wifi or broadband internet access. Whether you are in the Bay Of Plenty for business or leisure, Quest Tauranga invites you to enjoy the finest quality Tauranga accommodation in a perfect location and service of the highest standard. Whether you are looking for accommodation for One Night, One Week, One Month ; Quest Tauranga offers a unique "Home Away from Home" experience. Quest Tauranga's reception hours are 7.30Am to 7pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 4pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our after hours check in service and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. Onsite secure car parking is available at an additional cost; however spaces are limited so please book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quest Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Tauranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.