We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame for a badly located room as apartment was generally sufficient.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Tauranga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Tauranga to your Saves list
Quest Tauranga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Durham Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsview Resort & Towers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a shame for a badly located room as apartment was generally sufficient.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Sadly this was not a pleasant experience for me. The kids were Ok on the other side of the apartment, but unfortunately my room backed onto the car park which come 2am became a hang out for all the local teenagers and their cars, with a lot of noise.

Prior to this I had to contend with a party in a 'residents' apartment next door and on level above, which come 11.30 I'd had enough and called the resort manager. Aaron was attentive, and advised he'd see what he could do. Unfortunately the party kicked off again at 3am and went on to 5am with residents deciding to hang out on their balcony, topped off with a haka at 4am. Also, I have never slept anywhere where cigarette smoke somehow oozed through the seal of the window, so to be catching that at 4am was not pleasant.

Smashed bottles and noise in between all this from the car park resulted in the worst nights sleep I've had in a long time.

Everything else about the apartment was great - clean, spacious and great access to town although I have given this a poor location mark for its backing onto the car park. At 2am there were about 30 cars in there. At 8am there were 3.

My recommendation - do not sleep in rooms backing onto car park, especially at weekends, unless Quest fit them with double glazing - the kids slept great elsewhere in the apartment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest Tauranga, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Since taking over the complex we have continued to have discussions with the local police who have paid much more attention to this location. We have to our knowledge had no further major disturbances form inside the complex. We will always take firm action of anyone disturbing other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
31
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location just a short walk from The Strand where most of the bars and restaurants are but far enough away to be quiet.

Really good sized studio apartment which would easily sleep 4 as the main bed area was separated by shutters. Good bathroom marred only by not-so-hot water in the morning, otherwise recommended.

Service was OK, functional but friendly.

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor but still very quiet, no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest Tauranga, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately the whole building is supplied from one hot water boiler. At the time you stayed they had some technical issues and we apologise it affected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Reception were very welcoming and knowledgeable about restaurants and the surroundings. Small spa bath in room but great spa bath & sauna facility for guests. Narrow hallways & uncomfortable bed make this a slightly overpriced hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra & get a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest Tauranga, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the location or the cinstruction of the halways although we are a little supprised as our corridors are 2.0m wide. We note your comments though. What we can and have done is to sort out a few things we do control.

We are part way through replacment of the beds and bedding and have installed WI-FI throughout all the rooms we manage. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Tauranga

Address: 6 Durham Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsview Resort & Towers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Tauranga 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Tauranga Serviced Apartments are located in the heart of Tauranga's exceptional shopping, dining and nightlife. Explore the fantastic boutique stores, cafes, restaurants and bars that line the surrounding streets. Quest Tauranga offers a mix of 29 studio, one, two and three bedroom self-contained serviced apartments with comfortable and modern furnishings and all the great services and amenities Quest is known for. Each apartment features a spacious living area, full kitchen, deluxe spa bath (except our two fully enabled wheel chair accessible apartments), comfortable king size beds, and wifi or broadband internet access. Whether you are in the Bay Of Plenty for business or leisure, Quest Tauranga invites you to enjoy the finest quality Tauranga accommodation in a perfect location and service of the highest standard. Whether you are looking for accommodation for One Night, One Week, One Month ; Quest Tauranga offers a unique "Home Away from Home" experience. Quest Tauranga's reception hours are 7.30Am to 7pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 4pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our after hours check in service and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. Onsite secure car parking is available at an additional cost; however spaces are limited so please book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Quest Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Tauranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.