We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, very understanding when we had to cancel a previous booking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Academy Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Academy Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Academy Motor Inn
734 Cameron Rd | (cnr Cameron Rd & 15th Ave), Tauranga 3112, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #3 of 57 hotels in Tauranga
Gisborne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service, very understanding when we had to cancel a previous booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have stayed here several times and had booked at New Year for three days. Unfortunatly my Mother got ill and we had to cancel. They did so at no penalty even though they could have probably sold the room numerous times before we canceled, which is why we will continue to stay there when we go to Tauranga. Great people. Motels very clean and comfortable. There two day winter specials that include breakfast are such good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
12
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We made a last minute booking so didn't no what to expect but were pleasntly surprised. The place was immaculately clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Plunger coffee and REAL milk (not those silly little punets that hold about 1 teaspoon of milk) and decent sized coffee mugs. The linen on the bed was quality and we slept like babies. We will definatly use them again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Good value for money. Easy to find. Big room. Tea and good coffee. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Our holiday was ruined by finding 3 cockroaches in our room.
On complaining staff became combative and abusive over the phone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

Very comfortable. Well priced. I turn up there every 4 months or so and they recognise me in person.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Academy Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Motor Inn

Address: 734 Cameron Rd | (cnr Cameron Rd & 15th Ave), Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Academy Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Academy Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.