We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant all round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durham Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Durham Motor Inn to your Saves list
Durham Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Cameron Rd and Harington Street, Tauranga 3001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasant all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice room, included kitchen with 2 hotplates, two types of tea, plunger coffee, hot chocolate all supplied. Comfortable bed and very pleasant service, happy to recommend and direct to local restaurants. Very central and easy to park. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durhammotor, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Tauranga. It is a lovely town, isn't it? We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
19
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had to travel to Tauranga at short notice & Durham Motor Inn was reasonably priced and handy to everything. Owners were very accommodating. The price is inline with the facilities provided & city location. Bed was a bit soft & some noise from neighboring unit (talking loudly) on Saturday night, but would get that problem in many motels on a Saturday. Happy with choice of this motel as a base while attending to things in Tauranga.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durhammotor, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased you have mentioned how weel-located we are. It's always nice when a guest confirms the points we make. Hope we'll see you again for a vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This motel is under new management and the place is spotlessly clean and very comfortable.The owners are very friendly and accommodating. I thought it was very reasonably priced and only a couple of minutes walk to the restaurant strip and then the town.I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durh99, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We look foward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights, and were very happy with our choice. Clean and spacious rooms, totally awesome people! Nice central location, so easy walking to the waterfront and downtown shopping. Nice little pool, if you happen to run into a hot day. Would definitely stay again, and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here on the Wine Tour seeing Gin Wigmore on the domain. The rooms are first rate, clean, excellent taste in decor adn wonderfully roomy spa baths.... The hotel is centrally located which meant that everywhere was within easy walking distance but above all the welcome was fantastic. Friendly, polite, knowledgable - we woudl highly recomment the Durham and will defiantely return.
Thanks Guys - we had an awesome weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for the double spa room - plenty of rom for two to enjoy a wonderful soak
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I booked into this motel at 8.30 in the morning and dropped a bag off, I
had to cut short our trip to Tauranga and checked out of the motel 144
minutes later, thinking there would be a nominal charge, wrong, I was
charged the full room rate, as the owner informed me that he had had to
turn bookings away, but if the room was rebooked during the day, the money
would be refunded, guess what, the room was never rebooked, all the
enquiries for that room came within the 144 minutes I had it.
A dollar is hard to earn these days, I wont be spending any more here

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durh99, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Neil
We are sorry you have a problem with our motel, as you comment we are damaging your wealth. How about ours? We checked you in at 8:30am and upgraded you into a bigger room to accommodate you. Normal check in is at 2pm 5 ½ hours after you checked in.

You advised us that you were getting your motorbike repaired and it was fixed quicker than you thought which is the reason for then checking out early. This had nothing to do with us or our motel but you chose to move on from Tauranga. We worked to get you into the motel and help you and you were more than welcome to stay and enjoy what Tauranga has to offer. We always attempt to on sell a room in these situations if possible, this benefits both parties. We did in deed have an enquiry for the room you had checked into whilst you were here and had further enquiries for rooms throughout the day but not for the size room you occupied and therefore we were not able to resell the room.

With it being your choice to leave Tauranga why should we be penalised for this?

Kind Regards
Gary and Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are 2 adults with 2 young children aged 5 and under, and stayed in the 1 bedroom spa unit (room 4). The unit exceeds expectation at first impression. The unit was simple but tastefully renovated and clean. The bedding was comfortable and the spa tub was a family favourite. Our unit was quite quiet despite being beside the road, and there was road works on both nights of our stay. A portable heater in the room suffices for the chilly nights but it will be better if there is a wall-mounted heater in the bathroom. Of noted interest is that towels can be kept warm on the heated towel rail - a feature not commonly found in motels or even hotels. Karen and Gary are jovial people who make you feel right at home. We felt that Durham was great value for its quality and are sure that the motel will gain popularity. Thank you very much for the hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durham Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Cameron Rd and Harington Street, Tauranga 3001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Durham Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durham Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.