We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with Mum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macau

Macau
The Strand, Tauranga, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 236 Restaurants in Tauranga
Cuisines: Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch with Mum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

After a very busy weekend, enjoyed lunch with mum on Monday. First time visit - was recomended by my brother - fantastic food and great value. Superb

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“💝 Macau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The decor is a mix of textures, different materials and colour but it works so well. The lights are so awesome. The food is fusion and twist of flavours. The service was excellent. Looking forward to returning & trying the other dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

great restaurant right on the sea-front ,serving delicious food. Nice friendly staff who advised us on what to choose .Pleasant wines to go with the food ,and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tasty or not”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

On Valentines night we had a recent meal at Macau in Tauranga, I ordered salt and pepper calamari and it was a taste sensation, melted in my mouth so I was really looking forward to my main course. I had ordered Shredded duck leg salad and what a let down, if it was not for the over powering coriander there would of been no taste at all. Other members of our table also had a very disappointing meal with the Thai chicken curry and beef cheek. Over all the service from our waitress Maria was outstanding she made us feel very welcome and was very efficient but the food was very disappointing .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spicy and great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had an early meal tonight but the welcome and attention were great. The prawn entrees were exceptionally nice and spicy. The mains were equally. Good. A new restaurant but not to be missed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macau also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.