We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS NOT YOUR AVERAGE MOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tauranga Motel on the Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Tauranga Motel on the Waterfront to your Saves list
The Tauranga Motel on the Waterfront
1 Second Ave, Tauranga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Whangamata, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“THIS IS NOT YOUR AVERAGE MOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed here with a friend and to ensure we got the correct bedding configuration I phoned to clarify. Sandra was very friendly and suggested a ground floor unit with spa bath and patio overlooking the waterfront. The spa was perfect for my friend who likes a bath every night. This is certainly several notches above the average motel that’s for sure and I was very surprised at the quality and superior finish of the unit. It had a very comfortable king size bed plus a single bed separated by a room divider; there was even a Nespresso coffee machine and the little extras like complimentary orange juice were also appreciated. Being able to sit outside enjoying our drinks whilst taking in the view was a wonderful way to wind down at the end of our busy day and then again in the morning we were able to enjoy the rising sun. It is located in a quiet street and yet is relatively close to downtown Tauranga and only a 10 minute walk to The Strand restaurants. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend treating yourself to a waterfront unit, although I have also stayed in one of The Avenue units previously which are also very nice.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    46
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
73
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay. Staff friendly, clean modern room, great views. Walking distance to town and restaurant. Quiet location. The whole place had a good feel and we were able to relax before returning home.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year for a total of 3 nights and had an awesome time. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the location is convenient and the amenities are great.
The room we stayed in had a fantastic view of bays to the east and the king bed was very comfortable. A Nespresso machine in the room was a nice touch too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Excellent room with lovely views. Excellent staff arranged dinner booking on a busy night in Tauranga. Our room contained all we needed with a lovely comfortable brand new bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed in a ground floor room overlooking the water. Amazing views, so calming and panoramic. Easy access to town for shopping and restaurants. Great service especially the new coffee machine. The new king size beds are luxurious. Exceptionally clean.
Our only gripe was that the single bed one of us had to use was too hard. A sheepskin cover or topper pad would fix that. I believe the owners are buying new beds...that would certainly make a difference when both are sharing the costs of the room.

Room Tip: choose ground floor room with a balcony and magnificent view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed Here the front desk were excellent found a place to eat on Christmas day. Rooms very nice roomy clean and great to get real coffee in rooms. Is convenient to everything in town could walk. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed 2 nights just before Christmas. The city was busy but this place is very quiet and very relaxing. I had a waterfront room, the view was great.

I found the front of house staff very nice and professional, they were very courteous and assisted me several times when I had questions. Hellen you run a great team!

The rooms and bedding were very clean and the breakfasts were really good. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tauranga Motel on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga Motel on the Waterfront

Address: 1 Second Ave, Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#9 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Tauranga Motel on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tauranga Motel on the Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.