We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on Devonport to your Saves list
Hotel on Devonport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Whitianga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed here at least 10 times because it was a treat. This time it was below par. You would think the data base would show the desk staff that we have been regular guests.....obviously not?
Our room was not clean, with wipe marks visible on the bathroom walls and someone else's hair in the shower....yuck.
We'll find another place to stay from now on

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    81
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
155
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Came to tauranga to do some clothes shopping. Hotel right on the main street with secure free parking, wifi, and balcony to allow my wife to smoke. Super room and a free drink on the first night. I only grade 5 if outstanding for some reason so no criticism implied by only scoring 4.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was great to walk out of the front door onto the main street. This hotel has no eating area, but that is not a problem. There are good eating places all around. There was a small kitchenette with crockery and glasses in the room, but the only place to wash up was the bathroom (should we have left them for room service?). A welcome drink was brought up to our room - a nice touch. The parking is secure in an attached multi-storey. We loved the area - a great walk around the harbour, and the Mount Tauranga walk. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

For our 1st trip away from home with our 18 month old boy not quite overseas, but approx 3hr drive from home. We found the room was great and the service to match. We got a Cot provided by the hotel as we requested, which did make the room slightly more cozy but enough space still for our boy to run around in.

What sets this place apart from other places I have stayed in around the world is the small things like the complimentary drink on arrival and the bowl of apples at the reception for guests. ( The have some standard things like free wifi but limited see further down and a morning newpaper) The free secure parking was good too. Nice and clean and the furnishings are to a very good standard.

There were a few small things which bugged me a little so I will mention them more for people to be aware. The wifi is free but up to 250mb and then it is quite costly for additional mb. Inaddition in our case we weren't given a username or password it mentioned it should be in the checkin card with the keys. Oh well I wasn't there to surf the net apart from trying to check for weather forcasts for the region.

The other thing was, there is only one lift so at times.It could take some time waiting for the lift to come up or down. It was only 6 levels starting at 3 so for those who don't mind the stairs would be a good alternative.

There are plenty of resturants and cafes all within very walkable distances.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel really goes beyond what you would expect. Upon check in, they even have a complimentary drink delivered to the room!
Free wifi, free parking, large room & bathroom, perfect location too.
We enjoyed this hotel so much that we stayed on an extra night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed in the Davenport for 2 days in Jan '14. Overall the hotel was good - clean, good service, convenient location however the beds were a bit hard.

Did not use any of the hotel's amenities (other than parking which was very convenient).

Room was spacious and had a deck.

Be aware that this hotel is on the strand which is not where the beaches are (it is about a 10 minute drive to the beach locations). But the strand does have quite a few restaurants and is a nice place to have dinner (and the best fish and chips I have ever had is at the other end of the strand from the Davenport at the working fishing docks).

Room Tip: Non water views look out at top of building A/C units (i.e. non-water views are not great).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We recently stayed in the harbour view wing. While the room was lovely and new, it was much smaller than the others there we have had before. The bathtub was huge! Breakfast was included with the package, but we were never advised there was a maximum spend (ie if you
Order the big breakfast there is an additional charge...), which was a little disappointing. The breakfast itself was average in quality. It is definitely overpriced for Tauranga, we pay this when we go to Auckland and get better facilities. Not sure we will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel on Devonport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on Devonport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.