We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, reasonable priced motel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Summit Motor Lodge
213 Waihi Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic, reasonable priced motel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Arrived late after a long trip down and the host Mike couldn't have been friendlier. Checked in and was within my room in 5 mins max. The room was lovely if a bit hot at times and while the bathroom decor is stuck in the 70s style it is comfortable and works well without a hassle. Didn't get a chance to sample the pool but looked great.

Is close to town centre and only a 10 min drive to the Mount and its beaches.

Was a last minute booking but prices were still reasonable. Highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
20
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Summit is a modern, clean and comfortable motel in a quiet location with no road noise, and only a short easy drive to the town center. The view from the up-stair units is spectacular across the town towards the sea.
Judith and Mike went out of their way to provide excellent service including holding mail prior to our arrival for my wife's birthday, and advising us on the areas attractions and restaurants.
Overall this was the nicest motel on our road trip around the North Island, I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: The view from the 1st floor is a panorama of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Wow! This is a real gem of a motel. It is at the upper end of the price range we are willing to consider for a weekend getaway but represents excellent value for the money.

The owner who greeted us at the front desk was extremely welcoming and efficient. He sorted us out quickly with a room and provided us with a complimentary newspaper, complimentary milk, and a username and password to access the complimentary WiFi service. He walked us to the room and gave everything the 'once over' to make sure that it all looked good and was in working order.

We booked an 'executive studio' online but indicated that we were primarily interested in obtaining the quoted price and having a queen bed; beyond that, we didn't mind the actual room configuration. Given that executive studios are ground-floor units and that we were on a second-floor unit, we may have been given a 'twin share' studio or a one-bedroom; I'm not sure. In any case, the room was amazing. It was bright, clean, spacious, and very functional with lots of attention to detail.

The entry to the room is via a kitchenette complete with sink, microwave, small fridge, two hobs, electric frypan, electric kettle, coffee plunger, dishware, cutlery, washing up supplies, and coffee/tea/sugar/hot chocolate, and chocolate frogs (grin). The eat-in kitchen has a table with three chairs and linoleum floors (yay! - I like to see a non-porous flooring in kitchen and bathroom areas). The kitchen was its own room and could be closed off from the adjacent bedroom – very useful if traveling with a companion who keeps different hours.

The bedroom was huge, with a wall of windows and a patio door onto a balcony that looks into the quiet residential neighbourhood where the motel is located. We didn't have time to enjoy it but can imagine it would have been quite nice to sit out on the balcony.

The queen bed was comfortable and made up with crisp linens and warm fluffy comforters. There were two pillows on the bed and two extra pillows (thank you!!) in the good sized and easily accessed closet. There was a reading lamp over each side of the bed and a bedside table at each side (thank you!!). A flatpanel TV with SKY service was in the corner of the room. As well, there was a small computer desk with lamp and computer chair. Although we didn't require either item, there was a large floor fan in the corner of the bedroom as well as an electric space heater and an iron in the closet.

There was also a smoke detector in the bedroom - a surprisingly rare find in NZ motels - thank you!!

In addition, there were two large comfortable chairs in the bedroom. We appreciated being able to watch TV and have a drink and snack without eating in or on the bed. Thanks also for the luggage rack provided in the closet - when staying for only a night or two, we don't like to unpack everything and instead tend to live out of our luggage; it's nice having a surface to place our belongings that keeps them out of the living space.

The windows in the bedroom were equipped with blackout curtains and the door to the kitchen could be closed to cordon off the bedroom. When the curtains and door were closed, the room was pitch black. And the motel was extremely quiet. We didn't hear any other guests, traffic, or any other noise. It is the perfect place to enjoy a good night's sleep.

The ensuite bathroom was right off the bedroom and had an older sink, vanity, toilet, and shower. But all were in very good repair and were very clean.

The motel is reasonably well located for individuals who have independent transportation. The motel is on beautifully landscaped lawns in a quiet residential neighbourhood off a main road that allows quick access to city centre; reaching city centre requires about a 5-minute drive. Mount Manganui is also nearby – about a 10-minute drive.

The owners were very gracious in providing us with towels to visit the Mount Maganui Saltwater Hotsprings so that we didn't need to take the room towels. And they were very helpful in providing directions and ideas for where to eat.

Although we didn't stay long enough to use them, we noted that the motel provides coin-operated laundry which would be very useful for a long-term stay or a long-distance travel and there was a nice pool with lounge chairs around it.

In short, the Summit Motor Lodge provides an excellent room at a reasonable price. It would be comfortable for a short or extended stay. And I noted that a number of patrons were return visitors – it is easy to understand why this is. We expect to be back through Tauranga ourselves at some point and won't hesitate to stay again at the Summit Motor Lodge.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had 3 nights at the Summit having returned to Tauranga for a family 80th birthday. We were delighted with the hospitality and friendliness of Mike and Judith and Molly. My sister and her husband had a unit next door and we were able to enjoy the outside amenities to have morning tea in the sun. This is a well run business and we most enjoyed having a separate kitchen to the living/sleeping area. It was very clean and in a good position to get to central Tauranga. Great value for money and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor allow you to enjoy the outdoor area by just stepping outside your front do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was happy with the excellent customer service over the phone with Mike.
The room was very clean,great shower and the facilities were superb,we had a comfortable bed the location of this place was close to the main road but the room was very quiet.So impressed that we also had a great view to Mount Maunganui and the port of Tauranga.
We would Highly Recommended to anyone .Corinne.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed with Mike and Judith and Molly. They always make you feel welcome. We will back again next year. Accommodation is comfortable and spacious would recomend the Summit Motor Lodge to everybody.

Room Tip: My 11 year old daughter just loved the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

For a few years now i having been staying with Mike and Judith, if you like a home away from home and unbeilevable hosts there is only 1 Location in Tauranga this is the spot.
I Spent 3 weeks out of 5 in Motels and this is Number 1.
Thank You Mike and Judith I can't recommend you enough.
If you are reading this go vist this great couple and enjoy your stay.

Gavin

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Motor Lodge

Address: 213 Waihi Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet garden setting in central Tauranga, Summit Motor Lodge is just five minutes drive from the city - close enough to be convenient, far enough away to be relaxing. It's ideal accommodation for the corporate traveler, family holidays, weekend breaks or group tours. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Summit Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tauranga
Summit Tauranga
Tauranga Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.