We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch yum.....dinner umm.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Cafe and Larder

Elizabeth Cafe and Larder
247 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
07 5790952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 233 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: European, Café, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lunch yum.....dinner umm.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having seen the rave reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to go there for lunch. It was busy at 12.30pm but we were seated promptly by our friendly waitress. We had a delicious lunch of Pork spare ribs, and the Elizabeth Hamburger. We were so impressed with the portion size and value for money that we decided we'd be back later on for dinner. Based on how busy they were for lunch we thought we'd dine early for dinner (6pm) Only 2 couples were there at the time but we thought we'd just beaten the rush..... however there were only 5 occupied tables by 7.30pm when we left.
We ordered the chefs specials of Rack of Lamb and the angus steak at $34 each. First impression was the size was little on the small side. Although the lamb was tasty and cooked to specification it was nice but not great. The angus steak was melt in the mouth delicious!
We had room for dessert so we ordered the apple tart and the cream brulee. Both were devoured! Based on value for money and limited dinner menu I would dine only again for lunch.
Modern industrial decor and friendly wait staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good once again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just stopped for afternoon tea, cakes were excellent - coffee and hot chocolate also worth a special mention.

Great venue, great food - will return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Popped in on a busy Saturday afternoon. Coffee was outstanding as usual unfortunately the food missed the mark this time round. Firstly, the kitchen was out of oysters, we then proceeded to choose the snapper taco. Although the seasoning on the snapper was tasty it was dry and very disappointing. The chicken salad was ok but nothing to rave about either. I like the atmosphere so will be back for coffee not lunch

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I had been told by countless people to dine here and I am so glad I did. The food was amazing! Definitely going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice atmosphere with pleasant service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a Mexican breakfast and husband had the full breakfast. Two full breakfasts and two coffees and tomato juice $45. Seems good value. Very new only been open 10 months.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth Cafe and Larder also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Elizabeth Cafe and Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth Cafe and Larder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.