We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gettaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 18th Avenue Thermal Motel

18th Avenue Thermal Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 18th Avenue Thermal Motel to your Saves list
18th Avenue Thermal Motel
50 Eighteenth Ave, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet gettaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed at this motel three times now and every stay is pleasant, the units are modest and clean and tidy and the hosts are helpful and friendly, plenty to do in Tauranga and the Mount is only a short drive away. Highly recommend this motel foe couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for ease of access to the hospital which is within walking distance. The owners were wonderful and so helpful. They were working hard on the outdoor areas painting and tidying on what is an older motel. My room was huge with a good kitchenette and everything was lovely and clean. The bathroom was incredibly old and I would assume they will be modernised slowly but notwithstanding - they were clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just spent a few weeks at the motel as it is in a ideal for a base if you want to tour the bay of plenty area. John & Nikki the owners go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The units are spacious and clean. Fraser cove is 5 minutes walk down the hill a good selection of retail outlets, and places to eat (don't eat to much the hill seems a lot longer when your coming back up on a full stomach):-). walking to the town takes about 45 mins at a steady stroll or there is a regular bus service with the bus stop across the road from the motel. The pool is a decent sized thermal pool temperature around 40 degrees. The surf lifesaver competitions were taking place in Tauranga and there was a team from the South Island staying for a few days whilst we were there I was surprised at how little noise they made even when celebrating their victories would definitely use the the motel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here when we moved to Tauranga last year. The unit was basic but clean . The owners were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Its a easy walk into town and there's a bus route nearby. No road noise

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was probably the worst motel we have ever stayed at - it was up for sale & I can only hope someone has bought it & will completely overhaul it.

The room rate was completely overpriced & we had the king suite which was extremely unromantic, and the bed felt itchy & like it was full of fleas. Since our stay we have dubbed it the itchy & scratchy motel.

The place was pretty depressing really, we only stayed on because we had pre paid and it was the closest motel to family. There were some groups of late teens also staying & I imagine the motel is probably good for that kind of clientele. It's not walking distance to anywhere other than Fraser Cove. Motels in 15th ave or closer to the city would be a better choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 18th Avenue Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 18th Avenue Thermal Motel

Address: 50 Eighteenth Ave, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 18th Avenue Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 18th Avenue Thermal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.