We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas meal and stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Armitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Armitage to your Saves list
Hotel Armitage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Willow St. ( Cnr. Willow And Park Streets), Tauranga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas meal and stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Hotel Armitage as a Christmas function for the staff including a nights accommodation. Great location, great meal and great company. Very pleased with the room, quite large and very clean and tidy. Love the old style ambience of the hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
30
49
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night in this hotel. Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom though both were a little tired. The shower was over the bath which was disappointing. Everywhere was lovely and clean and the room had all the necessary bits and pieces to make staying there easy.
The hotel lacks atmosphere with lots of dark wood and dreary corridors but its convenient position (an easy stroll into the town) and competitive pricing made it a good stopover hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has a good sized pool with chairs and tables around it. We would have liked some sun loungers to relax on as the sun was shining! All in all for a three star hotel we were impressed. We moved on to a four star hotel in Rotorua that offered far less 'extras' we would definitely stay here again if we were travelling through.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night. The room was spacious and clean although the rubbish bin had not been emptied after the last occupant. On arrival the staff were indifferent in attitude. It would have been helpful to have offered us milk for our room when we checked in, rather than us having to make another trip downstairs to ask for some.

The worst aspect of the stay was incredibly rude, inconsiderate and noisy people in the next room who were having a PARTY(!) in their room, When I finally rang reception at 3.00 am I got a very indifferent response. It is clear from the reviews that noise has been a problem for other guests as well. We will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello there, we are very sorry about you less than satisfactory stay with us.
We do have a new night porter who is still in the early stages of learning and obviously did not know how to react to this situation. We apologize that your complaints were not dealt with sufficiently as we usually have a no noise policy for our guests. Your noisy neighbors should not have been tolerated and the right action was not taken on our part.
We don't often have problems with noise, but when we do it is usually dealt with promptly with initial warnings to the noisy guests and if continued removal from the hotel. This procedure was not used on this occasion so again we apologize and we will work closely with the staff member in question to make sure they know how to deal with these problems correctly should they rise again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed for two nights during labour day weekend. The hotel is decorated in a traditional style with oak panelling and thick carpets. We had a corner suit on the third floor with a balcony, separate living and dining area and large spa bathroom. The Clipper lounge was great to have a few drinks and a snack and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The place is close enough to town to walk in. Overall a decent hotel that we would return to.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
It sounds like you were in the Premium Suite! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My wife gave me a supermarket docket for a $115 hotel stay for my one night whilst attending a conference. the hotel was well situated in central Tauranga, and the staff were firendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised to find a spa bath. In the morning when I found that I had forgotten to bring a business shirt to go with my suit for the conference I called the front desk to ask if they knew of any retailers that would be open early enough. of course none were, but David the manager went the extra mile and lent me one from the office! the size difference was hidden under the suit jacket and afterwards they even took care of washing it themselves. Fantastic value for money (as two continental breakfasts were included) and even better customer service. I would definately stay there again when visiting Tauranga.

Room Tip: the room had a heat pump and no problems with noise. I was on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hi Albert, we are happy to help our guests in need! We agree the supermarket dockets are extremely good value so keep your eye out for them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The perfect hotel for a football team annual trip away Service great rooms clean and tidy and comfortable. We would happily recommend this to anyone travelling to tauranga. The staff friendly especially the night shift barman - Neville

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
We are so glad the team enjoyed their trip. We have passed the good feedback on to Neville.
We love hosting groups as it really brings the hotel alive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My husband and I booked a night here to have a night out in Tauranga. It is an easy walk to the waterfront and restaurants. I had asked for a room on the third floor, which was very nice complete with balcony. The studio room was spacious with a table, chairs, leather couch as well as ample small tables and lamps. Bathroom was also spacious with a two-basin vanity and spa bath with shower over it.
This is an older style hotel which is the reason I chose it, a change from modern décor - this hotel is furnished fully including sofa's and lovely old style chairs along the hallways. I sat there imagining that someone also sat here 100 years ago. Nice ambience.
Could not hear any noise from either road or other rooms and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Excellent value for money and we will return.

Room Tip: Room 305 is nice and quiet facing carpark rather than road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We love it when guests appreciate the character of the hotel rather than criticize it for not being the more typical plain, modern style! The hotel was built in two parts with the original half of the building now being 45 years old and the rest being 25 years old. It has also had various renovations throughout the years including all new bathroom suites more recently.
We will be glad to see you and your husband stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Armitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armitage

Address: 9 Willow St. ( Cnr. Willow And Park Streets), Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Armitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armitage Hotel Tauranga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Armitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.