We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Armitage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Armitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Armitage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Willow St. ( Cnr. Willow And Park Streets), Tauranga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Tauranga
Huntly, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Service and Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stay at Hotel Armitage once a month for business and find facilities very good and service from Scottish lady exceptional. Only gripes are TV reception and lack of variety with channels so would be good if they had Freeview, WIFI abit erratic, and also rooms can get noisy with people next door being inconsiderate talking loudly late at night but I do realise this is not Hotels fault.
Overall I would highly recommend this Hotel and would continue staying there at every opportunity. Rooms decent and very clean, food very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
27
42
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Opotiki, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stay at the Armitage on a regular basis for work.I always receive very friendly and efficient service. It is brilliant that I can arrive late at night and leave early - the all-night reception is one reason I choose to stay there rather than a motel. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with good airconditioning. It is priced at a level which works for my business. It has always been quiet when I have been there with no problems with noise from outside or the hotel itself. The meals are always well-presented and the breakfast buffet is very extensive and excellent.
The only comment I would make is the TV reception, especially channel 1 has lines running through it - and I would really like UKTV!!

Room Tip: I do prefer to be on the first floor - either side of the building seems fine thigh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked the Hotel Armitage originally for 3 nights. We found the Hotel to be very nice, pleasant and very helpful staff. The rooms are very spacious and clean and large bathrooms. My main priority in hotels are the cleanliness of the sheets and towels. I found no reason to be worried. The rooms were cleaned daily if required and all was very good. The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk into town but was very quiet. We were there with our son ,his partner and our 1 year old grandson, My only quibble was that their room overlooked the pool and when we babysat our grandson there were other hotel guests using the pool after 9pm, which we thought shouldnt have been allowed. It was noisy. We were to leave Tauranga on the 4th morning and travel to the Corromandels but couldnt find any suitable accomodation available where we needed to be so decided to stay in Tauranga instead, the hotel had no problems extending our stay for another 2 nights, so i think that is a good recommendation for the hotel. The reception staff were very nice and the young Scottish girl,(sorry forgot to get your name) really went out of her way to help us. Yes the hotel as mentioned by other guests isnt ultra modern but we liked it the way it was, it has its own charm. We would recommend The Hotel Armitage to anyone wanting a great Stay.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the side of the hotel. We were room 202. Our sons faced the pool, room 207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I wanted to try somewhere different to stay in Tauranga so I made a booking here. The rate seemed very reasonable so I thought why not try it out.

I had received the confirmation by email for the date, interesting the night before my stay I received a phone call asking me where I was, the wrong date of my reservation had been entered. I am at least pleased they called otherwise I might not of had a room on the night I choose and my CC could have been charged. It was all sorted out with the least amount of fuss.

On arrival I was checked in promptly and then went to my room, on the ground floor.
Oh dear, not good, the door lock was flimsily and it opened onto the car park, the room itself was very basic, not appealing and didn't look very comfortable or clean.

I went back to reception and asked for the next room type up, which I got for an additional payment. This room was ok, situated on the 2nd floor, I at least felt a lot more secure. unfortunately a few problems with the room, very low shower pressure, albeit the bathrooms have appeared to have been done up a little bit, TV reception was not great, lines going through the picture, and the wardrobe door would not close properly as the fridge was sticking out to far. The aircon worked well which was good, noisy thou. And it was noisy I could here other people until late at night.

The restaurant served old style but well cooked food, I have both dinner and breakfast and the food was totally acceptable.

Ample free parking, not secure thou, free Wifi but slow, and a pool and spa area.

I must say thou this was like stepping back in time, I doubt very much the hotel has been refurbished since it was built, very tired and old fashioned to the point of almost not being comfortable.

The saving grace here has to be the staff, friendly and attentive.

No I wouldn't stay again but it may suit people on a tight budget, who don't need to spend much time a the property when they are staying.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the room, do not get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Once again the Celebrity BaaBaaZ touch team- were hosted by our hostess Aeilidah and David at Armitage Hotel. Everytime we come here in the busy season- we are always well looked after. Nothing is too small or too big when we request for it to their team.
Awesome breakfast bufffet, and outspoken service by all the team! Appreciate it and look forward to being back with you guys 2015!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same- more Sun on the poolside obviously from mid morning onwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute and were pleasantly surprised considering some reviews on some site. Yes the hotel looks a bit tired in places but the staff were nice and friendly and the room was large and comfortable and a good price for the area as well. It was also kinky a 5 minute walk into town and there was plenty of free parking. Wifi was also free but very slow and didn't seem to work in the room but that was a minor issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have been staying at the Armitage Hotel for the past two weeks. Whilst on a cruise around New Zealand my husband suffered a heart attack and I found myself residing here whilst he was treated in hospital. He later joined me and together we have enjoyed the warmth and hospitality of the staff. Everyone has been so kind and helpful, many have gone the extra mile, by performing tasks beyond their duties to help us out during this difficult time. The rooms are warm clean and comfortable, the service is efficient. The meals are excellent, always being served hot,perfectly cooked and well presented. There are plenty of places to relax in comfort and a big screen television showing sky sports and many other programmes. There is unlimited use of the internet, free wifi for those who need it.and room service as required. The pool is most enjoyable and there are always towels available. Coffee is on hand at all times and staying here has been a wonderful experience.I would be pleased to recommend this hotel to anyone. It is just far enough from town and is suitable for all whether looking for a stay for business or pleasure you will always find a warm welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool get the afternoon and evening sun, but can be a little noisy if people are usi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Armitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armitage

Address: 9 Willow St. ( Cnr. Willow And Park Streets), Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armitage 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Armitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armitage Hotel Tauranga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Armitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.